Skip to Main Content

Pratt Institute Archives

Historical papers, images, and artifacts that document the history and development of Pratt Institute

Access Policy

Archives staff are working on-site to answer reference questions and will continue to serve the community within and beyond Pratt Institute virtually and in person. Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, researchers who are not affiliated with Pratt, including alumni, must be pre-approved by the Department of Public Safety before coming to campus. As such, we ask that any on-site appointment requests for non-Pratt researchers, as well as the documentation outlined below, be submitted at least one week in advance, . Pratt students, faculty, and staff may request appointments one business day in advance.

As per Institute policy, visitors are welcome on campus after submitting Pratt Institute’s COVID-19 Acknowledgement for Visitors/Guests/Alumni/Independent Contractors form and proof of full vaccination (i.e., 14 days from final vaccine dose). Anyone who has yet to receive full vaccination must submit a COVID-19 PCR diagnostic test that has to be administered and resulted within 72hrs of their visit to Pratt Institute's property. Click here for more information on campus access requirements for students, faculty, staff, and visitors.

To make a reference or reproduction request, please email archives.library@pratt.edu.

Pratt Institute Archives’ access policy is guided by the International Council of Archives Principles of Access to Archives, which state that “both public and private entities should open their archives to the greatest extent possible” and that “Archives are made available on equal and fair terms”. Likewise, Pratt Institute Archives follows the Society of American Archivists’ Core Values, which cite access and use, accountability, and social responsibility as part of archivists’ professional responsibilities. As such, Pratt Institute Archives is committed to fostering transparency, open dialogue, and equity through free and open access to its archival collections. Pratt Institute Archives collections are open to faculty, staff, students, and external researchers without regard to academic or institutional affiliations. 

Pratt Institute Archives prioritizes resources for the preservation of and access to unrestricted collections. Archives resources are only provided for the retention and preservation of restricted materials after careful consideration for their impact to the Archives’ mission, its commitment to providing access to Pratt Institute’s history, and considerations for privacy rights and public knowledge. Restrictions imposed on Archival materials are included in each collection’s finding aid as well as noted at the time of the request. Additionally, Pratt Institute Archives does not provide access to student records protected under the Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act (FERPA) (20 U.S.C. § 1232g; 34 CFR Part 99). 

Records of the President's Office are restricted for 25 years after the date of creation while Records of the Board of Trustees are restricted for 50 years after the date of creation.

Research visits are available through appointments Monday through Friday from 10am to 4pm. To request an appointment or to consult with an archivist, please email archives.library@pratt.edu. First-time visitors will be required to fill out a registration form. Researchers may decline to inform archivists of the purpose of their research. 

Individual documents and photographs from Archives collections may be digitized for access and use at the request of patrons. Faculty, staff, and students may request digital reproductions free of charge. Likewise, archival materials may be used free of charge in conjunction with Institute generated research and communications. For reproduction and use fees for patrons or publications not affiliated with Pratt, please consult the Pratt Institute Libraries Use Fee Schedule and Reproduction Fee Schedule. Materials from the Pratt Institute Archives may not be reproduced without specific written permission from Pratt Institute. To request a digital reproduction or permission to use Archives materials in any publication, contact the Archives at archives.library@pratt.edu.