200 Willoughby Avenue
Brooklyn, New York 11205
archives.library@pratt.edu
Online Collections
- Pratt Institute Archives Image Collection The Pratt Institute Image Collection consists of photographs, postcards, and other images. Dating mainly from the late-nineteenth through the mid-twentieth centuries, the collection documents the history and creative output of Pratt Institute, an institution that has stood since 1887 as an important cultural and educational presence in Brooklyn and the greater New York area. Included are images of the campus grounds and buildings, some of which are noted for their interesting architectural features; official events and activities; student life; notable individuals, including the Institute's founder and his family; and student work.
- Pratt Institute Archives Negatives Collection The Negatives Collection consists of black and white negatives produced by the Pratt Institute Photo Lab dating largely from the late 1950s through the mid-1970s
- Prattonias (Yearbooks) Prattonia, the Institute’s yearbook, and its predecessors the Pratt Institute Souvenir and the Pratt Institute Annual, are being digitized on an ongoing basis and can be accessed through issuu. Included also are a few departmental yearbooks, such as the 1907 Willow by the Normal and Manual Art Training students, the 1914 Architects Class Book, and the 1919 Science and Technology Prattonia issue. The Archives holds hard copies of all existing yearbook issues, including those not yet digitized.
- Pratt Campus Buildings Growing collection of scans of plans from the Pratt Institute Facilities department.
- Pratt Institute Monthly The Pratt Institute Monthly, a journal published between 1892 and 1904, is a key source for learning about the intellectual and social activities of the Institute during its earliest decades. They have been digitized and can be viewed through the HathiTrust Digital Library.
Welcome to the Pratt Institute Archives
The Pratt Institute Archives collects, preserves, and provides access to a wide variety of historical papers, images, and artifacts that document the history and development of Pratt Institute and its various schools, departments, programs, and social activities, as well as the contributions of individuals and organizations associated with Pratt. Included are personal papers of the founder, Charles Pratt, and several other members of the Pratt family, as well as those of some faculty, staff, and alumni. Documents found in the Archives date from 1822 to the present, and include many items pertaining to the Institute’s founding in 1887. Our Collections and Finding Aids page provides additional information, as well as access to our finding aids. Although the Archives’ primary mission is to support the information needs of the entire Institute community, its resources are also available to outside researchers.
The Archives is located in the Library of Pratt Institute’s Brooklyn campus. An advance appointment is required in order to access the Archives’ collections, which are available Monday through Friday between the hours of 9:30 a.m. and 4:30 p.m. during the fall and spring semesters, and 10:00 a.m. and 3:30 p.m. during the summer. To request an appointment or research assistance, please contact the Archivist. Plan Research and Visit will provide additional information that you should know before coming.
Requests for Transcripts
The Archives is not a formal records repository for the Institute and does not maintain student records. Researchers who wish to request transcripts should follow the instructions issued by the Office of the Registrar.
Campus Building Plans
CAD files and current plans of campus buildings are available to Pratt Students, Faculty, and Staff with a valid ID only. Please visit the Reference Desk on the first floor of the Library or contact us by email or phone at libref@pratt.edu, (718) 636-3704 for access.
Donations
The Pratt Institute Archives is always interested in collecting materials relevant to the history of Pratt Institute. Individuals who wish to donate historical materials to the Archives should first contact the Archivist, who reserves the right to refuse potential donations falling outside the scope of the Archives’ collection guidelines. The Archives is unable to accept works of art, nor can it accept or return unsolicited gifts. The Archives will acknowledge donations in writing but cannot make monetary appraisals for tax or other purposes.
Library Park, 1900
Prattonia -1967
Cheerleaders, 1960
The Cannoneers 1950s
Prattonia - 1979
Contact
Archives
Pratt Institute Library
200 Willoughby Avenue Brooklyn, New York 11205
718-636-3510
archives.library@pratt.edu