Skip to Main Content

Pratt Institute Archives

Historical papers, images, and artifacts that document the history and development of Pratt Institute

About Our Digital Collections

The majority of the Archives' Digital Collections are freely available through JSTOR Open Community Collections. Prattonia, the Pratt Institute yearbook, can be accessed through the Internet Archive. The Archives' collections are being digitized on an ongoing basis. Priorities for digitization are established based on preservation needs, user requests, and special projects. High-resolution versions of the images in our Digital Collections are available upon request. To make a digitization or use request, send an email to archives.library@pratt.edu. Please read our Access Policy for more information on digitization and use fees. 

See All Digital Collections

Archives Image Collection

Female students painting with watercolors from a butterfly exhibitThe Archives Image Collection consists of photographs, postcards, and other images dating mainly from the late nineteenth through the mid-twentieth centuries. Included are images of the campus grounds and buildings, some of which are noted for their interesting architectural features; official events and activities; student life; notable individuals, including the Institute's founder and his family; and student work.

Most of these images come from the Archives Photograph Collection. The digital image collection will continue to grow as additional photographs are scanned.

High resolution scans of specific images can be requested by emailing archives.library@pratt.edu.

Go to the Archives Photograph Collection

Archives Negatives Collection

Four frames of two men posing in a science classroomThe Archives Negatives Collection consists of black and white negatives produced by the Pratt Institute Photo Lab for use in publications and external public relations. Dating largely from the late 1950s through the mid-1970s, this collection provides valuable insights into student life and Institute activities at the time. The negatives depict events; clubs and athletics; students, faculty, and administrators; classes and student work; and the campus.

The collection is currently in the process of being scanned, and new negatives are added regularly. High resolution scans of specific images can be requested by emailing archives.library@pratt.edu.

Go to the Archives Negatives Collection

Yearbooks

Prattonia, the Institute’s yearbook, and its predecessors the Pratt Institute Souvenir and the Pratt Institute Annual, are being digitized on an ongoing basis and can be accessed through the Issuu platform. 

Go to Prattonias

The Prattler

The Prattler, Pratt's student newspaper, is being digitized on an ongoing basis and can be accessed through the Issuu platform. Current Prattlers are made available through Issuu upon publication. 

Go to The Prattler

Campus Buildings and Plans

There are two digital collections that support research on the architecture of the Pratt Institute Campus: 

Pratt Institute Buildings Image Collection available to the public and includes photographs and images in other media depicting the Pratt Campus.

Go to the Pratt Institute Buildings Image Collection

The Pratt Instiute Campus Buildings Collection is only accessible to members of the Pratt community and contains scans of architectural drawings and plans housed in the Facilities Department.  Included in this collection is a copy of the Pratt Historic Master Plan from 2006.

Go to the Campus Buildings Collection

Pratt Institute Monthly

Cover of the Pratt Institute MonthlyThe Pratt Institute Monthly, a journal published between 1892 and 1904, is a key source for learning about the intellectual and social activities of the Institute during its earliest decades. They have been digitized and can be viewed through the HathiTrust Digital Library.

Go to the Pratt Institute Monthly

Student Publications

undefinedThe Pratt Institute Archives collects students publications produced at Pratt such as DRUM, Asterisk, and Static Root. Efforts to digitize student publications held by the Archives are ongoing. 

Go to the Pratt Institute Student Publications

Records and Manuscripts

The Archives has several ongoing projects related to the digitization of manuscripts, reports, flyers, brochures, and other types of paper records. 

Go to the Digital Records and Manuscripts