Skip to main content

Pratt Institute Archives

Historical papers, images, and artifacts that document the history and development of Pratt Institute

Mission

The Pratt Institute Archives forms part of Pratt Institute Libraries and as such adheres to the Libraries’ mission to provide outstanding service and access to a resource-rich environment that facilitates critical thinking and creative teaching and learning. To help fulfill this mission, the Archives identifies, acquires, preserves, and provides access to primary source materials that support the teaching, learning, and research activities of Pratt Institute’s faculty, staff, students, and the larger research community. Likewise, the Pratt Institute Archives mission is guided by the Society of American Archivists Guidelines for College and University Archives , which defines their purpose as “documenting the process of institutional evolution by retaining both the evidence which shapes decisions and the decisions themselves" .1 Thus, Pratt Institute Archives preserves the official records of administrators and administrative offices, Pratt Institute’s academic programs and courses of instruction, subsidiary organizations, and records of academic departments and committees, insofar as they have permanent historical value. 

1. Society of American Archivists. (1999). Guidelines for College and University Archiveshttps://www2.archivists.org/groups/college-and-university-archives-section/guidelines-for-college-and-university-archives