Pratt Institute Archives

When archival materials are referred to, quoted, or reproduced, they should be properly cited. Not only does this increase the credibility of your work,  it also allows future researchers and archives staff to find and use the materials again. The format of the citation will vary depending upon the style guide being used, but the following elements should be included:

• Title or description of the document, including creator, dates, page, volume, or similar identifying information
• Collection title
• Repository (Pratt Institute Archives)
• Series information
• Container information (box and folder numbers)

We have provided sample citations following the APA format, MLA format, and Chicago Style format below.

The Purdue OWL Citing Archival Sources page may also be helpful. To learn how to cite secondary sources and unique formats, visit the Citing Sources Libguide.

Articles

In many archival collections, you will encounter articles and written pieces in newsletters, periodicals, and other formats generally referred to as "publications". ​Many publications in the Pratt Institute Archives do not belong to a specific collection. These include the Prattonia, Prattler, Pratt Institute Monthly, and others. For these titles, omit the collection, series, and container information.

APA Format Example: Gayley, C.M. (1900 November). The Poetry of Social Reform. Pratt Institute Monthly, 9 (1), 1. Pratt Institute Archives.

MLA Format Example: Gayley, Charles Mills. "The Poetry of Social Reform." Pratt Institute Monthly, vol. 9, no. 1, Nov. 1900. Pratt Institute Archives.

Chicago Format Example: Charles Mills Gayley, "The Poetry of Social Reform." Pratt Institute Monthly, 9, no. 1 (1900 November): 1.  Pratt Institute Archives.

Letters

In the archives, many collections contain pieces of written or typed communication or correspondence between faculty members, administrators, staff, and students. These "letters" can contain useful primary source information for researchers and can be cited in projects. 

APA Format Example: Pratt, C.M. (1939, October 23). [Letter to William W. Shirley]. Records of the Library, 1886-2007, Pratt Institute Archives (Box 20, Folder 5). Pratt Institute Libraries, Brooklyn, NY. 

MLA Format Example: Pratt, Charles M. Letter to William W. Shirley. 23 Oct. 1939. Records of the Library, 1886-2007, Pratt Institute Archives, Pratt Institute Libraries, Brooklyn, NY

Chicago Format Example: Charles Millard Pratt to William W. Shirley, 23 October 1939, Box 20, Folder 5, Records of the Library, 1886-2007, Pratt Institute Archives, Pratt Institute Libraries

Documents

When researching in the archives, you may come across various items like reports, strategic plans, meeting minutes, or other content that was created to be shared with others, but not intended for external publication. This type of material falls under the broader category of "Documents".

APA Format Example: Collar, M. A. (1899 April). Indexes are the souls of books. Records of the School of Information and Library Science, 1886-2007, Pratt Institute Archives, (Box 10, folder 7). Pratt Institute Library, Brooklyn, NY. 

MLA Format Example: Collar, Mildred A. "Indexes are the souls of books." 1899 April. Records of the School of Information and Library Science, 1886-2007, Pratt Institute Archives, Pratt Institute Library, Brooklyn.

Chicago Format Example: Lecture Notes entitled "Indexes are the souls of books" by Mildred A Collar, April 1899. Box 10, Folder 7, Records of the School of Information and Library Science, Pratt Institute Archives, Pratt Institute Library, Brooklyn, NY. 

Photographs

Within the archives, you may encounter various photographic images in various formats including prints, negatives, slides, and more. When including an image in a project or assignment, crediting "Pratt Institute Archives" in an image's caption is usually acceptable. You can always check with archives staff to see if a fuller citation (as outlined below) is appropriate. 

APA Format Example: Civaldi, W. (ca. 1935-1950). Pratt Institute Archives Images Collection, Pratt Institute Archives. JSTOR. https://www.jstor.org/stable/community.353938

MLA Format Example: Civardi, Walter. [Parties.]  [1935-1950.] Pratt Institute Archives Image Collection, Pratt Institute Archives. JSTOR, https://www.jstor.org/stable/community.353938

Chicago Format Example: [Parties], photograph by Walter Civaldi, ca 1935-1950, Pratt Institute Archives Image Collection, Pratt Institute Archives. JSTOR, https://www.jstor.org/stable/community.353938

Works of Art and Artifacts

When citing artifacts and artworks, make sure to credit the artist or creators and note the medium.

APA Format Example: Cambell, M. (1900). A Domestic Science Man. Cyanotype. Records of the School of Home Economics, Pratt Institute Archives.

MLA Format Example: Cambell, Mabel. (1900). A Domestic Science Man. [Cyanotype]. Records of the School of Home Economics, Pratt Institute Archives.

Chicago Format Example: Cyanotype entitled "A Domestic Science Man" by Mabel Cambell. 1900. Records of the School of Home Economics, Pratt Institute Archives.

Audio Visual Materials

When citing films or other types of A/V material, include the director and entity that created the film as well as the date and location.

MLA Format Example: Frame from Pratt Puts It On, 1981. Produced by Pratt Institute, Brooklyn, NY. Pratt Institute Libraries 16mm Collection. 

APA Format Example: Pratt Institute. (Producer). (1981). Frame from Pratt Puts It On, 1981. Pratt Institute Libraries. 16mm Collection. 

Chicago Format Example: Frame from Pratt Puts It On, produced by Pratt Institute. (1981)16mm. Pratt Institute Libraries. 16mm Collection.