Artists' Books

52 Walker is a David Zwirner gallery space. In April 2022, the gallery founded the 52 Walker Library which comprises both circulating books, which can be checked out for 4 weeks at a time, and non-circulating reference books, which can be consulted on-site. A 52 Walker Library card is required to check out publications and be completed onsite or by emailing library@52walker.com

52 Walker St, New York, NY 10013

AAAinA’s mission is to collect, preserve, and make accessible information on contemporary art from and of Asia, in order to facilitate public understanding and specialized research, to instigate dialogue and critical thinking, and to raise awareness of and support for the activities of AAA globally. To achieve this goal, AAAinA maintains a reading room in Brooklyn, New York which is open to the public free of charge, and comprises over 5,000 monographs, exhibition catalogues, reference books, periodicals, and audio-visual materials about contemporary art related to Asia.

23 Cranberry St, Brooklyn, NY 11201

As a leading institution in the book arts, CBA is committed to maintaining and growing its Fine Arts, Reference, and Archive collections as essential resources for preserving history, expanding access, and generating new scholarship in the field. From zines to fine binding, marbling to press maintenance, the Collections at CBA have something to inspire researchers, artists, craftspeople, and the book-curious at any level of practice.

28 West 27th St, 3rd Fl, New York, NY 10001

Franklin Furnace’s mission is to present, preserve, interpret, educate, and advocate on behalf of avant-garde art, especially forms that may be vulnerable due to institutional neglect, cultural bias, ephemerality, or politically unpopular content. The organization provides physical and virtual venues for the presentation of time-based art, including artists’ books and periodicals, performance art, installation art, and unforeseen contemporary avant-garde artforms; and undertakes other activities related to these purposes.

The mission of Interference Archive is to explore the relationship between cultural production and social movements. This work manifests in an open stacks archival collection, publications, a study center, and public programs including exhibitions, workshops, talks, and screenings, all of which encourage critical and creative engagement with the rich history of social movements.

314 7th St, Brooklyn, NY 11215

The library contains over 1,020,000 volumes, including monographs and exhibition catalogs; over 21,000 periodical titles; and more than 140,000 auction and sale catalogs. It also provides access to an extensive collection of electronic resources (including numerous indexes, encyclopedias, dictionaries, online journals, databases, and Internet resources), autograph letters, and ephemera files relating to individual artists and to the history of the Museum.

1000 5th Ave, New York, NY 10028

The Artists’ Books Collection (ABC) of the New York Public Library is one of the largest and most important collections in the country. To date, the collection holds more than 8,500 items.

476 Fifth Avenue (42nd St and Fifth Ave), Third Floor, Room 308, New York, NY 10018

Wendy’s Subway is a reading room, writing space, and independent publisher in Bushwick, Brooklyn. They support emerging artists and writers in making experimental, urgent work and create alternative modes for learning and thinking in community. Wendy’s Subway is dedicated to encouraging creative, critical, and discursive engagement with arts and literature.

379 Bushwick Avenue, Brooklyn, NY 11206

A.rt R.esources T.ransfer is a nonprofit organization committed to documenting and disseminating artists' voices and work to the broadest possible publics. Through A.R.T. Press, their Library Program, and Reading Resources, they activate the key components of the printed book—publication, distribution, education, and spaces of reading—to create more egalitarian access to the arts and literacy.

526 W 26th Street, #614, New York, NY 10001

Booklyn’s mission is to promote artists’ books as art and research material and to assist artists and organizations in documenting, exhibiting, and distributing their artwork and archives within the academic market. They specifically assist artists and organizations committed to environmental and social justice. They work towards their mission by documenting, exhibiting, promoting, and distributing their work within educational institutions worldwide.

140 58th Street, Bldg B-7G, Brooklyn, NY 11220

Calipso Press is an independent publisher based in New York City that creates artists’ books, runs workshops, and hosts a residency program oriented to expanded publishing and printing experimentation.

1639 Centre St, Ridgewood, NY 11385

Center for Book Arts promotes active explorations of artistic practices related to the book as an art object. Founded in 1974, CBA is the oldest non profit dedicated to uplifting and furthering the book arts & book art through education, preservation, exhibition, art making, and community building.

28 W 27th St, New York, NY 10001

Central Booking is a non-traditional gallery that highlights the breadth of book art while continuing a firm exhibition program exploring the convergence of art and science. They are committed to organizing events that are often involved with the environment and social justice issues.

Endless Editions is a publishing and curatorial initiative founded in 2014. Endless Editions’ mission is to produce and disseminate books or prints by emerging artists, irrespective of age, gender identity, creed, or race. The imprint works primarily with artists who have been historically underrepresented in the gallery system or art market, and supports them through the conceptualization and realization of both limited and open edition prints or publications, events, and exhibitions.

323 W 39th St, New York, New York 10018

Mindy Belloff of Intima Press creates Fine Press book editions in the heart of New York City. As the only Private Press in Manhattan, established in 1996 and at the Union Square location since 2004, the Press is committed to traditions of high art and the by-hand craft of letterpress printing, fine artist's books, unique bindings, poetic broadside editions, and elegant designs and typography.

Union Square, New York, NY 10003

Lucky Risograph is a risograph printing press operating from Dumbo, New York. They work with local and international creators to reinterpret risograph printing through art books, zines, prints, and community projects.

20 Jay St Unit 217, Brooklyn, NY 11201

Shop is online only

n 1906, the Guild of Book Workers (GBW) came into being with the goal of nurturing “a feeling of kinship and mutual interest among workers in the several hand book crafts.” The New York chapter of GBW strives to uphold the founders’ goals by hosting practical workshops, lectures, studio tours, and gatherings to support the state’s vibrant community of bookbinders, conservators, book artists, papermakers, and printers.

Founded in 1976, Printed Matter, Inc. is the world’s leading non-profit organization dedicated to the dissemination, understanding and appreciation of artists’ books and related publications.

231 11th Ave, New York, NY 10001

EFA Robert Blackburn Printmaking Workshop (EFA RBPMW) is the oldest and longest-running community print shop in the United States. Not only a co-operative printmaking workspace that provides professional-quality printmaking facilities to artists and printmakers of every skill level, EFA RBPMW is committed to inspiring and fostering its diverse artistic community. Dedicated to the making of fine art prints in an environment that embraces technical and aesthetic exploration, innovation, and collaboration, EFA RBPMW seeks to improve the overall quality of fine art printmaking by providing low cost, unfettered access to printers, equipment, and education.

323 W 39th St, New York, NY 10018

Secret Riso Club is an artist-run space that fosters a creative practice at the intersection of art, design, learning, publishing, printing, activism and community building. In their practice, they work to build a platform that serves as a collaborative space for developing ideas and new projects.

122 Central Ave, Brooklyn, NY 11221

Small Editions is a design studio and artist book publisher. They offer services in graphic design, print consulting, and limited edition book binding. Through their independent publishing imprint, they collaborate with artists to create unique, limited edition artist books.

20 Grand Ave #502, Brooklyn, NY 11205

Shop is online only

TXTbooks is an artist-run independent publishing initiative in Brooklyn, NY. Their publications are resolved via Risograph printing for cost-effective self production and as an informal way to aesthetically bind their output.

Wendy’s Subway is a reading room, writing space, and independent publisher in Bushwick, Brooklyn. They support emerging artists and writers in making experimental, urgent work and create alternative modes for learning and thinking in community. Wendy’s Subway is dedicated to encouraging creative, critical, and discursive engagement with arts and literature.

379 Bushwick Avenue, Brooklyn, NY 11206

Dashwood Books has become a destination for artists, collectors and art directors from all over the world as well as a valued source for the fashion, advertising and film industries, and anyone interested in artist’s books and monographs. Their main specialty is in contemporary photography. This includes importing books that have no or very limited distribution in the United States, limited press runs from Japan, Germany and The Netherlands, artists’ self-published books, signed books and a carefully curated selection of collectible post-war titles.

33 Bond St, New York, NY 10012

Desert Island sells "visual books and art," including comic books, graphic novels, art books, and vintage Mad magazines. It also publishes Smoke Signal, a free comics anthology, and provides a marketplace for artists to sell their own comics and zines.

490 Metropolitan Ave, Brooklyn, NY 11211

High Valley Books has been specializing in design books and periodicals, for research, inspiration and gifts since 1999 in Brooklyn. They are located in Greenpoint Brooklyn and open by appointment. They have a large hand-picked stock of books on fashion, architecture, interior decoration, photography, graphic design, gardening, literature, travel and cookbooks.

882 Lorimer St, Brooklyn, NY 11222

Lucky Risograph is a risograph printing press operating from Dumbo, New York. They work with local and international creators to reinterpret risograph printing through art books, zines, prints, and community projects.

20 Jay St Unit 217, Brooklyn, NY 11201

Shop is online only

Mast Books is a bookstore and gallery space located in New York City’s East Village…From its inception, Mast Books has developed exhibitions, cultural programming and events, including readings, performances, and public talks.

72 Avenue A, New York, NY 10009

Miriam Bookshop is a thoughtfully curated space for artist books. They prioritize publishing projects that demonstrate an interrogation of the book as a creative form, made by artists of diverse backgrounds, perspectives and practices.

319 Bedford Ave, Brooklyn, NY 11211

A three-floor contemporary art gallery which includes a bookshop featuring unique editions and books published by the gallery.

130 Orchard St, New York, NY 10002

Founded in 1976, Printed Matter, Inc. is the world’s leading non-profit organization dedicated to the dissemination, understanding and appreciation of artists’ books and related publications.

231 11th Ave, New York, NY 10001

Quimby's is an independently owned bookstore that sells independently-published and small press books, comics, zines and ephemera. They favor the unusual, the aberrant, the saucy and the lowbrow.

536 Metropolitan Ave, Brooklyn, NY 11211

Secret Riso Club is an artist-run space that fosters a creative practice at the intersection of art, design, learning, publishing, printing, activism and community building. In their practice, they work to build a platform that serves as a collaborative space for developing ideas and new projects.

Small Editions is a design studio and artist book publisher. They offer services in graphic design, print consulting, and limited edition book binding. Through their independent publishing imprint, they collaborate with artists to create unique, limited edition artist books.

20 Grand Ave #502, Brooklyn, NY 11205

Shop is online only

TXTbooks is an artist-run independent publishing initiative in Brooklyn, NY. Their publications are resolved via Risograph printing for cost-effective self production and as an informal way to aesthetically bind their output.