The Zine Librarians Code of Ethics is a tool to be used for acquiring, managing, preserving, and making accessible zines in a library setting, whether the collection is housed in a public, academic, or special library; an archives; or a basement.
Shelf life is a series of actions and a starting point for examining larger systems of power a reader might overlook for the merits or enjoyment of an individual book. These actions invite you to reflect on how your collected knowledge may be incomplete, even if there are some sections that feature a diversity of voices.
London College of Fashion library staff share memories of much loved garments with stories, illustrations and photos for the inaugural issue of Fashion Library Memor Zine: not just about the cardigans and spectacles.
Describes the creation, upkeep, and use of the Barnard College Library's zine collection, which focuses on women's writings, and provides some general information about zines.
Library Excavations is a project and publication series that highlights and activates physical materials found in public libraries. It encourages intensive browsing of paper and print resources, particularly those that are under-utilized, or at risk of being withdrawn and discarded.
This metazine made by zine librarians for a June 2015 American Library Association preconference session is a workbook with activities for librarians to think about the role of zines in their libraries, communities, and institutions.
This pamphlet is published in a series of 7 as part of the Radical Open Access II - The Ethics of Care conference, which took place June 26-27 at Coventry University.
A zine documenting a project by four digital humanities students at the CUNY Graduate Center to prototype a Zine union catalog using CollectiveAccess, an open source software tool that manages and publishes museum, archives, and library content.
This zine is based on the work of the Data Privacy Project and on the article. “Library Privacy in Practice: System Change and Challenges” by Seeta Peña.
An overview of the erotic collection in MICA's Decker Library with materials dating from 1933 and 1970-2000s, which "represent a period of trying to evade Obsenity Laws or arrest for being homosexual."
We are a collective of users who want to dismantle the assumption that tech companies like Google, Facebook, Twitter, and Apple are the authority figures who dictate our needs and desires. And this is our manifesto.
DVD included with 1st issue. Digital Disobedients is a curatorial project meant to educate people about .NET ART and Digtial art. Through the use of videos, magazines, prints and lectures Digital Disobedients hopes to display works that are sometimes considered esoteric and make them accessible to a wide range of people.
Covers what consent looks like for digital bodies, the importance of consent within technology, as well as ways consent can be incorporated within the design process of technology. The zine is split into multiple sections exploring different questions and topics.
Created for the ARLIS North America Conference held in Toronto in 2012. Made with various subscription databases, Google Scholar, Worldcat, Google search engine, email messages, & my own personal library.
Explores the history of the Lower Manhattan jail site, the "Tombs" and the interwoven histories that led to the current mobilization against jail expansion.
