Articles
To find articles, images, videos and more, use our Research & Discover search, available on our homepage and most other pages on the Libraries website.
Research & Discover searches the Libraries' collection of books and periodicals as well as subscription resources and databases. It's a great place to start your research project.
Databases
A database is an online collection of reliable, published information. Library databases provide a gateway to a wide range of research resources, such as academic journals, newspapers, magazines, e-books, web pages, and multimedia content.
When you are searching for resources related to a specific field or topic, it can be helpful to search using specific databases. Browse Communications Design databases via our Databases A-Z list.
-
AHR net (Formerly Arts:Search) This link opens in a new windowAHR Net covers a wide range of art and design periodicals and includes profiles of artists and designers.
-
Art and Architecture Source This link opens in a new window
Art & Architecture Source covers a broad range of related subjects, from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design. Providing over 600 full-text journals, more than 220 full-text books, and a collection of over 63,000 images, it is designed for use by a diverse audience, including art scholars, artists, designers, students and general researchers.
-
DAAI: Design and Applied Arts Index This link opens in a new windowIndexes over 500 journals that cover industrial design, interior design, fashion, graphic design, typography, packaging, etc., since 1973. Supplementary databases provide contact information for craft & design organizations, special collections of design & craft, design & craft education programs, and periodicals. Online help is available. Coverage is worldwide.
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new windowJSTOR provides access to over 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. JSTOR also includes the Artstor Digital Library, which contains over 2 million images from institutions around the world.
-
ProQuest Art, Design and Architecture Collection This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive survey of current publications in the fields of visual and applied arts, including those covering modern and contemporary art, all aspects of design and craft, and scholarship on Western art history.
Film and Video
Our streaming video databases (including Kanopy and Alexander Street Press) are accessible both on and off campus.
Check out our Film & Video Collections guide to browse items available for checkout, including 16mm films, DVDs, and VHS tapes.