Skip to Main Content

Film and Video Collections

The film and video collections of the Pratt Institute Libraries encompass DVDs, BluRays, VHS tapes, 16mm films and streaming video subscriptions. Physical media circulates and can be viewed on the Lower Level of the Library.

About the Collection

Image of the DVD vaultThe Pratt Institute Libraries have a collection of over 4,000 unique titles on DVD and VHS.  Topics covered by the collection include documentaries of all kinds with a specialization in art, architecture, and design, as well as an extensive collection of animation and live action feature films.  

With current Pratt identification, students faculty, and staff may check out all circulating DVDs for up to seven days with one renewal. During operating hours, DVDs should be returned thirty minutes prior to the office closing at the Visual and Multimedia Resources circulation desk located on the lower level of the library. After hours they may be returned in the overnight drop box outside of the library in the DVD slot.  Late Fees for DVDs are $1.00 per item per day.  For more information about circulation policies go to Borrow and Renew.

Although the majority of the video collection does circulate, VHS tapes, certain rare or valuable DVD titles, and some duplicate copies are designated non-circulating. Non-circulating items may be viewed in-house at the VMR viewing stations or borrowed by faculty to show in class. PLEASE NOTE THAT AT THIS TIME THERE IS NO EQUIPMENT AVAILABLE TO VIEW VHS TAPES. FOR INFORMATION ABOUT HOW TO ACCESS THIS MATERIAL, PLEASE CONTACT video.library@pratt.edu.

Faculty may place any films from the collection on reserve for use in classes by contacting video.library@pratt.edu with the following information: title of the DVD as it appears in the library catalog, course name and number, and date needed for teaching. Please contact video.library@pratt.edu for more information.

 

Browse the DVD Collection in PrattCat - Documentaries