Icon Key
- collection contains some (but not necessarily all) resources in the public domain
- collection contains some (but not necessarily all) resources covered by at least one type of Creative Commons license
- the resource is free and open software (also known as FOSS) meaning that anyone can use, copy, or change as desired
- Pratt Institute resource
Tools
There are a variety of tools available to help you develop your visual and multimedia projects. In addition to the resources listed below (many of which are free and open source), the following are also available:
-
Pratt Libraries LibGuide: Making Video Tutorials
A guide on how to make video tutorials for the Pratt Institute Libraries. While it specifically targets how to make library-related video tutorials on Adobe Spark, there are links and resources that may be useful for other contexts as well. -
Pratt Teaching and Learning Center: Information Technology Resources
A list of technology resources that the Pratt community has access to including LaunchPad and equipment for loan at Pratt Libraries. -
Pratt LaunchPad
A virtual lab environment that provides students and faculty with access to all licensed software titles like the Adobe Creative Cloud Suite, Autodesk, ArcGIS, Rhino, Fusion360, etc. This cloud-based platform not only provides off-campus access but also allows users to shift more computing cycles to the LaunchPad platform rather than their own computer.
-
Pratt Libraries LibGuide: Equipment at Pratt Institute Libraries
A list of the laptop computers, their specifications and software, and accessories available for loan from Pratt Institute Libraries. Software already loaded on some include: the Adobe Suite, Atom Filezilla, Client Focusrite Control (which works with the studio microphone and digital audio interface available for loan), Handbrake, Keka, Leawo Player, OBS, and Rodecaster Pro App (which works with the podcasting kit available for loan). - It's FOSS
A web portal and resource that focuses on Open Source and Linux in particular. Their articles and community aim to improve the desktop experience of users (and specifically beginners) of Linux and help increase the number of Linux users overall.
A suite of applications to help create a range of digital media. The full suite is available for free to Pratt students via LaunchPad including Photoshop, Lightroom, InDesign, Premiere Pro, and After Effects.
- Adobe Audition
Part of the Adobe Creative Cloud (which Pratt students have free access to), it's a comprehensive toolset that includes multitrack, waveform, and spectral display for creating, mixing, editing, and restoring audio content.
A free and open source audio recording, mixing, and editing application. The multi-channel workstation is available for Windows, Mac, and Linux.
Free, open source, multi-track audio software for recording, mixing, and editing. Available for Windows, Mac, and Linux.
Free, cloud-based, online digital audio workstation (DAW) that runs in a web browser, so there's nothing to download.
A basic free and open source video editor for Windows, Mac, and Linux. It was designed for simple cutting, filtering, and encoding tasks and supports a variety of file types including AVI, DVD compatible MPEG files, MP4 and ASF, using a variety of codecs.
A free and open source 3D creation suite. It supports modeling, rigging, animation, simulation, rendering, compositing and motion tracking, even video editing and game creation.
Graphic design application that allows you to work on your own or collaborate with other users. It can be also be used as a photo and video editor. The free version comes with various templates, access to stock images and graphics, and some cloud storage.
A free and open source video editor for Linux only that has various versions. Features currently include advanced timeline, motion tracking support, video stabilization, audio mastering, and color correction.
A free and open source photography workflow application and raw developer available for Windows, Mac, and Linux.
All-in-one solution for editing, color, VFX, motion graphics and audio. The free version works with virtually all 8‑bit video formats at up to 60fps in resolutions as high as Ultra HD 3840 x 2160. The free version includes multi-user collaboration and HDR grading and is available for Windows, Mac, and Linux.
Browser-based collaborative design tool allows for individual or real-time collaboration with other users. It can be used for drawing/creating and exporting graphics and their free version has a variety of widgets and plugins.
Free and open source multi-track video editor for Linux only. Features include: all major audio/video formats supported with the help of FFMpeg libraries and a variety of timeline controls.
GIMP - GNU Image Manipulation Program
A free and open source, cross-platform image editor available for GNU/Linux, macOS, Windows and more operating systems. You can change its source code and distribute your changes.
A free and open source vector graphics editor for GNU/Linux, Windows and MacOS X.
Free and open source multi-track video editor compatible with Windows, Mac OSX, and Linux. Most of the video processing is done by the MLT Framework.
A free and open source painting program that allows you to create and edit raster graphics. It is compatible with Windows, macOS, and Linux.
An easy-to-use tool to organize your ideas and projects into visual pin-up boards. You can share work in real time, collaborate, and organize feedback. Pratt students and faculty have access via "login with Google" and using their OneKey credentials.
A free and open source compsitor for 2D and 2.5D VFX and motion graphics. The cross-platform tool is available for Windows, Mac, and Linux,
Free and open source, cross-platform app that allows you to download videos and playlists in all kind of formats from the web.
Free and open source cross-platform video editor, with support for Linux, Mac, and Windows. Features include unlimited tracks, title editor, video effects, 3D animations, animations and keyframes, audio waveforms, slow motion and time effects, 70+ languages and more.
A free and open source video editor for Linux only. Features include the support of all major video formats using GStreamer Multimedia Framework, advanced timeline independent of frame rate, animated effects and transitions, audio waveforms, and real-time trimming previews.
A complete digital audio production application for computers, offering a full multi-track audio and MIDI recording, editing, processing, mixing, and mastering toolset. It supports a range of hardware, digital formats, and plugins, and can be comprehensively extended, scripted, and modified. After the free 60-day trial, it is available at a discounted rate under certain circumstances.
A visual search engine that pull images from across the web with the "same energy" - matching theme, style, composition, etc..
A free and open source desktop publishing program available for Windows, Mac, and Linux. You can create layout, typeset, and create animated and interactive PDFs, presentations, and forms.
Free and open source cross-platform video editor for Windows, Mac, and Linux. Major features include support for a wide range of formats; no import required meaning native timeline editing; Blackmagic Design support for input and preview monitoring; and resolution support to 4k.
A free and open source, cross-platform multimedia player and framework that plays most multimedia files as well as DVDs, Audio CDs, VCDs, and various streaming protocols. It can also be used to download videos online (instructions on how can be found here) and is available for Windows, Mac, Android, and Linux.