Icon Key
- collection contains some (but not necessarily all) resources in the public domain
- collection contains some (but not necessarily all) resources covered by at least one type of Creative Commons license
- the resource is free and open software (also known as FOSS) meaning that anyone can use, copy, or change as desired
- Pratt Institute resource
Video Resources
Academic Earth: Academic Video Lectures
Free online classes and in-depth online learning resources including original videos. Lectures are downloadable.
Academic Film Archive of North America 
This site offers a list of films on animation, art, business, drama, guidance, science, and math. Most films are from the 1950’s and 60’s and are less than 30 minutes long. The collection is hosted on the Internet Archive.
High resolution, stock photos, vectors, and videos searchable and browsable via curated collections and available to use for commercial purposes. A limited number of free downloads are available using your Adobe Creative Cloud account or there are paid options.
American Archive of Public Broadcasting
The collection preserves the most significant public television and radio programs of the past 60 years. The Library of Congress and WGBH in Boston partnered to collect and host the archive of over 40,000 hours of content.
Multimedia resources to help teachers increase their expertise in their fields and assist them in improving their teaching methods. Many programs are also intended for students in the classroom and viewers at home.
A collection of historical and contemporary international TV footage from the Associated Press and its partners.
Clips of biographical content on individuals both current and from the past. Full episodes and clips are viewable on Biography's YouTube channel.
C-SPAN Video LibraryThe C-SPAN Archives records, indexes, and archives all C-SPAN programming for historical, educational, research, and archival uses. Every C-SPAN program aired since 1987, totaling over 275,000 hours, is accessible through the database and electronic archival systems developed and maintained by the C-SPAN Archives.
Searchable video-hosting platform where users upload their content. Site allows users to search and browse Creative Commons content by type of license (e.g. Attribution, No Derivation, etc.).
Provides streaming access to a large collection of documentary films about American folk, or roots, cultures. All of the films were produced by independent filmmakers and the site includes essays about the traditions and filmmakers, transcriptions, study and teaching guides, suggested readings, and links to related websites. The site provides simple keyword and advanced searching, as well as ability to browse by subjects, regions, titles, filmmakers, and other categories.
Fortunoff Video Archive for Holocaust Testimonies
From Yale University, 4,400 videotaped interviews with witnesses and survivors of the Holocaust.
Internet Archive: Moving Image Archive
Located within the Internet Archive, provides access to nearly a quarter million films uploaded by Archive users and ranging from classic full-length films to daily alternative news broadcasts to cartoons and concerts. The bulk of the collection is English language, but there are also substantial collections in other languages including Spanish, Korean, Swedish, and Arabic to name a few.
-
Prelinger Archive
The most complete and varied collection of ephemeral films (advertising, educational, industrial, and amateur) in existence. -
Understanding 9/11
A library of news coverage of the events of 9/11/2001 and their aftermath as presented by U.S. and international broadcasters.
The Interviews: An Oral History of Television
A collection of over 900 first-person interviews that aims to create an oral history of television from the professionals that shaped it. Various TV genres and professions are covered in the other 4,000 hours of footage.
Library of Congress Collections with Film and Video
The Library of Congress is the largest library in the world, the main research arm of the U.S. Congress, and the home of the U.S. Copyright Office. Their collection includes over 1,000 film and video clips that are viewable online. They cover a wide variety of topics including Coca-Cola advertisements (1951-99), Presidential Inaugurations, and Folk Music (Ohio & Eric Canal), etc..
-
National Screening Room
This collection presents movies from the Library's extensive holdings, offering a broad range of historical and cultural documents as a contribution to education and lifelong learning.
Video of 65 interviews from the television series hosted by the late Mike Wallace from 1957 and 1958. Available interviewees include Eleanor Roosevelt, Frank Lloyd Wright, Margaret Sanger, and Salvador Dali among other notables of the time.
Now accessed via YouTube, MIT Video aggregates and curates video produced by the offices, laboratories, centers and administration at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. Includes feature and editorial videos, event recordings, academic content and more. The channel was developed and is maintained by the MIT News Office.
Now owned by Fandango and accessed via YouTube, they have the largest collection of licensed movie clips on the web from films of all genres.
An expansive collection of images, videos, and visualizations from the Hubble telescope including planets, stars, nebulae, galaxies, and more.
Collection includes documentaries, animations, experimental films and fiction. NFB showcases films that take a stand on issues of global importance that matter to Canadians—stories about the environment, human rights, international conflict. Users must create a free account to access content.
National Park Services Multimedia
Multimedia of and about National Park Service sites including national parks, monuments, battlefields, and historic sites. The collection is searchable by keyword, location, or file type (including photos, videos, audio, webcams, and podcasts).
An open video repository that began as a digitization project in 1998. Collection includes material from a variety of sources, especially various video programs obtained from U.S. government agencies such as the U.S. Records and Archives Administration and NASA.
PBS (Public Broadcasting Service) and their member stations are America’s largest public media enterprise. Their content covers news, culture, education, and entertainment, and has content appropriate for all ages.
-
Frontline
View complete episodes of a large selection of films from the acclaimed PBS public affairs series. -
P.O.V. Video
Provides a selection of full length films, short films, and lesson plan based clips from the acclaimed PBS documentary film series POV.
Pexels: VideosA free stock photo and video website and app. Photos and videos can be downloaded and used for free (even for commercial purposes), and attribution is not required, but always appreciated.
PopTech catalyzes social impact through its renowned Fellows programs, innovative projects and an annual conference in Camden, Maine. Videos posted on the PopTech YouTube channel include conference stage talks, interviews, and project documentaries.
PublicResourceOrg helps channel the public domain by obtaining U.S. government videos and making them available online.
Contains multimedia videos from the U.S. Department of Energy's scientific research. The site uses state-of-the-art audio indexing and speech recognition technology allows the user to search for specific words and phrases spoken by the presenter in these video files. Enter a word or phrase in the search box and the results list will point to the precise snippets of the video where the term was spoken.
Smithsonian Institution - Collection Search Center
Search over 6.4 million records with 536,000 images, video and sound files, electronic journals and other resources from the Smithsonian's museums, archives, and libraries.
Over 4,000 TED (Technology, Entertainment, Design) lectures by innovative leaders of their respective fields presented at various TED and TEDX conferences. These inspiring, thought provoking lectures touch on a boundless and diverse range of issues.
UCLA Film & Television Archive 
A collection of films, televisions and radio programs preserved by UCLA Film & Television Archive. Browse and search the whole archive via their website or on their YouTube channel. Includes a selection of restored silent animations from 1900-1925, Laurel and Hardy clips, and UCLA student films.
USC Shoah Foundation: Visual History Archive
Approximately 3,000 testimony videos of the nearly 55,000 testimonies from survivors and witnesses of the Holocaust and other genocides can can be viewed online and data information can be seen for all. Registration on the site is required.
Wellcome Collection: Moving Image and Sound Collection
One of the largest videos and audio material relating to human and animal health and welfare across the twentieth century. Wellcome Collection is a free museum and library.
Provides online access to unique and historical content produced by the public television and radio station WGBH. The site contains video, audio, images, searchable transcripts, and resource management tools, all of which are available for individual and classroom learning.
A collection of educational videos organized by subject area.