Audio/Visual and Multimedia Resources and Tools

Multimedia works comprise several different elements. This guide helps creators and researchers find visual and multimedia resources to enhance their projects. In particular, it provides links to a variety of audio, image, and video repositories from across the web – many that contain material in the public domain or that contain material that is covered by one of the Creative Commons licenses. You will also find information on how to use these materials responsibly including: tips on visual literacy; accessibility considerations and resources; copyright and usage licenses; and guidance on proper citations.

Throughout this guide, the following icons will be used to indicate:

• - collection contains some (but not necessarily all) resources in the public domain
• - collection contains some (but not necessarily all) resources covered by at least one type of Creative Commons license
• - the resource is free and open software (also known as FOSS) meaning that anyone can use, copy, or change as desired
•   - Pratt Institute resource

It is your responsibility to abide by the terms of use/rights/license of material you use. Not clear on what is meant by "fair use," "public domain," or "Creative Commons"? Learn more on the Copyright, Creative Commons, and Citations page of this guide.

Multimedia Databases at Pratt Institute Libraries 

Faculty, staff, and students of Pratt Institute have access to various databases with a plethora of additional visual and multimedia resources. Access to these collections may vary and as always, use of content is bound by the copyright terms of use.

VMR Equipment Loans at Pratt Institute Libraries 

The Pratt Institute Libraries lend equipment to faculty, staff, and students at the Brooklyn campus. This equipment is intended to provide borrowers with the means to document projects, make presentations, and implement creative ideas.

TALKS.PRATT 

Video hub of Pratt Institute talks, events, and projects featuring high-profile speakers, creative student/faculty work, and engaging stories.

Artstor 

A guide to getting the most out of the Artstor Digital Library and the Pratt Institute Libraries' growing collection of digital images.

Artstor for Faculty 

A guide for faculty to integrate images in Artstor's digital library into their teaching and get the most out of Artstor's tools and services.

Finding and Using 16mm Films 

A guide to the 16mm films located in the Pratt Libraries collection and how to care for them.

Film and Video Collections 

A guide to Pratt Institute Libraries' extensive film and video collection of over 6,000 unique titles available to Pratt Institute faculty, students, and staff in a variety of formats.

Images and Image Collections for Teaching 

Image resources collected by Pratt Libraries for teaching and learning. Includes links and instructions on how to access the school's special collections and archives and Pratt's Picture File Collection as well as external sites.

Maps and GIS 

A guide to finding and using maps and other geospatial resources at Pratt and beyond.

Open Access Resources 

A guide to free and public online resources covering a wide range of topics including multimedia repositories.

Picture File Collection 

A guide to the Pratt Institute Libraries' Picture File Collection comprising tens of thousands of analog images from magazine and newspaper clippings, photographs, and a variety of other picture resources. Available for in-library use only, images may be scanned and photographed for personal use, but are subject to U.S. copyright law.

Pratt Institute Archives Digital Collections 

A guide to the digital collections of historical papers, images, and artifacts that document the history and development of Pratt Institute.

Special Collections Images 

A guide to special collections related to the history of art and design maintained by the Visual Resources Center at Pratt Institute Libraries.