Icon Key
- collection contains some (but not necessarily all) resources in the public domain
- collection contains some (but not necessarily all) resources covered by at least one type of Creative Commons license
- the resource is free and open software (also known as FOSS) meaning that anyone can use, copy, or change as desired
- Pratt Institute resource
Audio Resources
American Archive of Public Broadcasting
A collection created by the Library of Congress and WGBH in Boston of the most significant public television and radio programs of the past 60 years. Hosts over 40,000 hours including thousands of programs that have had national impact.
An interactive library of high-quality, legal audio downloads including original music from independent artists. All songs are free to access and download.
A collaborative database of Creative Commons Licensed sounds. Browse, download and share sounds.
-
Freesound: Sound Museum
Hosted within the Freesound collection, over 100 "endangered" sounds from the past.
Recordings ranging from alternative news programming, to concerts, to Old Time Radio shows, to book and poetry readings, to original music uploaded by users. To help users get started in this vast collection, the Internet Archive created a blog post with 10 Ways To Explore The Internet Archive For Free.
-
Internet Archive: Podcasts
Part of the Internet Archive's vast collection, you can search for podcasts (episodic audio broadcasts on a variety of topics) in a variety of languages.
Creative Commons music available for browse and download, and 250,000+ royalty-free music tracks library for any project, all rights included - various genres and artists.
A collection of free, downloadable stock music, sound effects, and video. Browse by category or use the search function.
A collection of sounds made famous by technologies and electronics equipment that have since been superseded and/or become obsolete.
Historical recordings from the Library of Congress National Audio-Visual Conservation Center and other contributing libraries and archives.
National Park Services Multimedia
Multimedia of and about National Park Service sites including national parks, monuments, battlefields, and historic sites. Searchable by keyword, location, or file type (including photos, videos, audio, webcams, and podcasts) and filter for high-quality images.
The independent, nonprofit American media organization partners with over 1,000 local radio networks and makes accessible their local, national, and international news, information, and music programming.
-
TED Radio Hour
From NPR, the collection of audio recordings are based on TEDTalks from the world's most remarkable minds
A collaborative project to source, digitize and distribute out-of-copyright sound recordings. The archive distributes these recordings freely, forms a site of exchange, and is a vehicle for future collaborations and distributed projects.
A personal collection of sounds identified and recorded across scanners & ham radios. All files are downloadable MP3s.
The Shortwave Radio Audio Archive
A growing collection of downloadable historic and current recordings from the shortwave radio spectrum. The goal of this site is for shortwave radio enthusiast to have a place to store, archive and share their radio recordings with the world.