Skip to Main Content

Remote Learning Updates

Classes at Pratt are moving online. The Libraries have prepared remote learning updates & resources below.

Library Services - Fall 2021

Service schedule

The Libraries welcome new and returning students, faculty, and staff for the fall term. 

Please note that there will be earlier than usual closing times for the fall semester as we transition toward a fuller return for the spring term.  See library hours.

Visiting the Libraries

All library visitors must follow all social contract requirements, including wearing a face covering. Reading rooms and study spaces throughout the Libraries will be available for community use.

Research help

Get research help online via chat, email, and by appointment. Look for the “Ask a Librarian” pop up chat on the bottom right of our website for instant research help. Research guides are available to help you get started with your projects. Video tutorials are available to walk you through core library resources and research practices. Subject specialist librarians are available for one-on-one meetings over Zoom.

Collections

Books:

Pratt community members can freely browse the Libraries’ circulating collections in the stacks and reading rooms. Pick up requests are no longer required. For more information about browsing the stacks, visit our Finding Books guide. 

Equipment:

The Equipment Loan Office will now be open seven days a week! Members of the Pratt community can walk in and borrow up to six different pieces of equipment. No appointment is necessary, but reservations may be made by stopping in or by calling the office at 718-636-3626. Special requests for longer loans, duplicate items, or more than six pieces of equipment may be submitted online. For more information, visit our Equipment guide.

Film and Video Collections:

DVDs and 16mm films are available to circulate from the Lower Level of the Brooklyn Campus Library. For more information about access to these collections, see the Film and Video Research Guide, which also includes a page about Streaming Collections.

Special Collections and Archives:

Materials from the Libraries’ special collections and archives are available through scanning, video recordings, and scheduled research appointments. To request an appointment, find the desired item in our catalog and click the 'Book Appointment' button under the item's status. For more information see the research guides for Special Collections and the Archives

Articles & eBooks:

Visit our Database A-Z page for more information about the Libraries’ robust e-resources and online learning services. 

PDF scanning: 

Scanning requests can be made by clicking on the "Request a PDF Scan" button in our catalog. For more information about the Request a PDF service and copyright compliance policies, see the Scanning Services page.