Skip to main content

Unlocking Local Public Library Collections

In response to COVID-19, NYPL and BPL have expanded their collections of eBooks, databases, streaming platforms, and more! This guide will walk you through signing up for an e-library card from each library system, and will highlight online resources for

Using this Guide

Though libraries throughout the city are closed for now, our friends at nearby public libraries are working hard to expand their online collections of free library materials. The following guide explores recent expansions by New York Public Library (NYPL), Brooklyn Public Library (BPL), and Queens Library (QL) to their online collections. In response to the unprecedented crisis brought on by COVID-19, these libraries continue to expand their collections of:

  •  e-Books and magazines
  •  Audiobooks
  •  Research databases
  •  Music and video streaming platforms
  •  Image, photography, and local history collections
  •  Virtual arts and culture resources

        and more! 

For those of you with active public library cards, simply browse this guide to discover fun and useful resources. If you're in need of a library card, don't worry! The Getting Your e-Library Card page will walk you through the process of signing up for e-Cards with NYPL, BPL, and QL.  

Of course, all libraries look forward to reopening and serving our users face-to-face when we are safely able to. Until then, we hope these online resources help you in your academic and creative work and in finding books, movies, magazines, and other materials to make your time at home that much more enjoyable.