Chair of Research & Collection Development
OER Repositories
OER materials are created and curated by a diverse and growing community of individuals, non-profit organizations, government bodies, libraries and educational institutions. The repositories on this list offer an introduction to the world of OER.
- BCcampus OpenEdA repository of numerous OER resources, such as textbooks, as well as extensive information on OER creation.
- Directory of Open Access BooksDOAB is a community-driven discovery service that indexes and provides access to scholarly, peer-reviewed open access books and helps users to find trusted open access book publishers.
- HathiTrust Digital LibraryHome to over 17 million digitized books and articles, HathiTrust is a non-profit conglomerate of several premier academic libraries working together to digitize their content.
- IntechOpenParticularly robust in STEM content, IntechOpen is home to a growing collection of over 5,000 OER ebooks and etextbooks.
- Open Access books on JSTOR7,800+ Open Access ebooks from 90 publishers, including Brill, Cornell University Press, De Gruyter, and University of California Press, are now available at no cost to users.
- OpenStaxMaintained by Rice University, OpenStax is a nonprofit corporation that hosts textbooks covering a wide variety of subjects. These OER textbooks can be converted to print textbooks easily at little cost to students.
- MERLOTUnder the stewardship of California State University, MERLOT houses tens of thousands of peer-reviewed OER textbooks, articles and learning materials.
- Maryland Open Source Textbook (MOST) CommonsMOST Commons is an online space designed to support faculty and staff in discovering materials, collaborating with colleagues, and contributing OER to improve curricula.
- MIT OpenCourseWareMIT OpenCourseWare is a free and open collection of material from thousands of MIT courses, covering the entire MIT curriculum. MIT OCW is particularly robust in its STEM holdings.
- Open Textbook LibraryHosted by the University of Minnesota, the Open Textbook Library is a comprehensive repository that points to open textbooks by a variety of authors and publishers.
- SUNY OER ServicesOperating as part of SUNY’s Office of Library and Information Services, SUNY OER Services includes a wide range of open courses, assignments, and OER textbooks.
Finally, a growing number of museums and cultural institutions including The Metropolitan Museum of Art, The Smithsonian, The British Museum, The Louvre offer numerous OER images and descriptions of their vast holdings.
Internet Archive and Project Gutenberg offer numerous free ebooks in a plethora of subjects. Most of these ebooks are already in the public domain. Both hold an impressive collection of primary source materials.
Have you found an OER repository not listed here? We would love to hear about it!