Associate Director for Collections Management
Johanna Bauman
She/Her
Contact:
Pratt Institute Libraries
Lower Level
speccoll.library@pratt.edu
Lower Level
speccoll.library@pratt.edu
718-687-5745
Magazines & Journals
The Journal of Artists' Books (JAB) (online)The Journal of Artists’ Books provides a platform for both theoretical and creative expression. As a forum for the study of artists’ books, JAB publishes critical and theoretical articles, reviews of artists' books and exhibitions, and commentary on conferences and and other book art-related activities. JAB also regularly showcases creative work in the form of artists' statements and artist-designed pages and covers.
The Bonefolder (online)On January 13, 2012, Volume 8, the largest (and regrettably last) issue of The Bonefolder was published online. What started as an experiment in open-access online-only publishing “way back” in 2004 grew into perhaps the most widely read publication in the book arts with over a quarter million downloads for all issues combined since we began with a global readership. Listing of the The Bonefolder in the Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) placed us in just about every research library’s online catalog, and participation in LOCKSS will ensure long-term access to all issues (as do Syracuse University Library’s and the Internet Archive’s servers).
Umbrella (online)Umbrella is an art journal that began publication by Judith Hoffberg in 1978. The journal covers news and reviews of artist books, mail art and contemporary art and photography tradebooks. It includes interviews with leading book artists, alternative spaces as well as Fluxus artists. The journal ended print-copy publication in 2005 and moved to an online edition, 2006-2008.
Central Booking MagazineA guide to the world of book arts, for readers with conviction.
Useful Databases
- Art and Architecture Source This link opens in a new windowThis is a comprehensive database that includes articles on all things art and architecture. A search of the term “artist book” yields over 400 results.
- Getty Research Institute Databases This link opens in a new windowThe Getty has many digital resources on artists’ books as well as an extensive physical collection. To search their collection go to the Getty Search Gateway. The best results will come from using specific search terms, such as the name of an artist.
- Library Stack This link opens in a new windowThis database has a number of digitized artists’ books. To browse the selection, go to the left-hand navigation bar, click “Format Categories,” “Artist Projects,” then “Artists’ Books.”
