Artists' Books Guide

A series of videos made by book artist Tina Lyon that goes over some basic bookbinding techniques including the tools you will need as well as a few different stitching patterns. The videos are extremely clear, and worth watching in their entirety prior to looking at more complicated tutorials. Note: this is produced in the UK so all measurements and paper sizes are in the metric system.

This guide includes a list of terms and definitions, examples of various stitches, and links out to a number of specific tutorials.

Book Arts Web provides a comprehensive list of various tutorials related to bookmaking. This includes bookbinding, gold leafing, InDesign templates and more.

Japanese stab binding is one of the most straightforward binding techniques available. After understanding the most basic stitch, you can make increasingly complex patterns using the same method.

This tutorial goes over a lot of bookbinding basics, but also covers the coptic stitch (or chain stitch), which will result in your book being able to lay completely flat when open.

Here is an extensive history of Chinese bookbinding methods that includes many images of traditional books as well as diagrams showing how to make your own.

This is an overview of medieval manuscript making that includes an explanation of tools and materials, as well as directions for a number of bookbinding methods.

A podcast hosted by Professor of Book Arts Steve Miller where he interviews different book artists and poets. The podcast itself stopped production in 2015 but there are 10 years worth of episodes to listen to.

Bookbinding Now is a New York-based community podcast posted every other Wednesday. Bookbinding Now is hosted by Susan Mills in conjunction with Full Tilt Bookbinding Classes.

Despite being based in Canada, this site holds a wealth of information that anyone can use, like where to find the best materials, as well as a collection of links to further resources. They also have a home study program that allows you to learn techniques from anywhere in the world.

Located in Rochester, NY, the Visual Studies Workshop not only hosts an MFA program and a collection, they also have a number of workshops and publications that students can learn from.

The Women’s Studio Workshop in Rosendale, NY has published a large variety of artists’ books. They host workshops, residencies, and exhibits that are worth checking out.