SEARCH FOR ARTICLES & MORE
To find articles, images, videos and more, use the Research & Discover search bar on our homepage, or at the top of this page. It's a great place to start your research project.
Get Help
During library open hours, get immediate help by:
- Using our live chat service here (see orange button, bottom right corner)
- Stop by the Research Desk, 1st floor of Brooklyn Library
- Call (718) 636-3704
- For a slower response time, you can also email libref@pratt.edu
USE SPECIFIC DATABASES
Try these databases to narrow yourself to good sources of fashion information.
Choose from all fashion-related databases here.
- Asian Fashion Archive This link opens in a new window"The Asian Fashion Archive is a digital platform dedicated to showcasing the rich heritage of Asian fashion, culture, and history. Founded in response to the anti-Asian racism that prominently emerged in 2020, this project is driven by a commitment to combat harmful narratives and amplify the rich and varied stories of Asian communities."
- Bloomsbury Fashion Central This link opens in a new windowThe Berg Fashion Library offers a range of collections including the Berg Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion, e-books, reference works, images, and more. It is hosted on the Bloomsbury Fashion Library platform.
- Bloomsbury Visual Arts This link opens in a new windowBloomsbury Visual Arts is an interdisciplinary hub designed for research and learning across design, art, architecture and related fields. It brings together our visual arts resources to provide a richly layered and cross-searchable platform which can be explored using the subject and collection tiles below. This new platform currently includes Bloomsbury Applied Visual Arts, Bloomsbury Design Library, and Bloomsbury Architecture Library.
- DAAI: Design and Applied Arts Index This link opens in a new windowIndexes over 500 journals that cover industrial design, interior design, fashion, graphic design, typography, packaging, etc., since 1973. Supplementary databases provide contact information for craft & design organizations, special collections of design & craft, design & craft education programs, and periodicals. Online help is available. Coverage is worldwide.
- Fashion and Race Database This link opens in a new windowPlatform collecting resources that connect Fashion studies to studies of race and power and de-center Eurocentric perspectives of fashion history more broadly. Please note that you must create an account to access this resource with their @pratt.edu email account.
- Fashion Studies Online This link opens in a new windowThis collection provides over 1,200 hours of videos that retrace the history of fashion, clothing, and costume worldwide, feature interviews with top fashion names, and cover major international events.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowJSTOR provides access to over 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. JSTOR also includes the Artstor Digital Library, which contains over 2 million images from institutions around the world.
- New York Times Site License This link opens in a new window
Full access to current and archival content from the New York Times. In order to set up an account, follow the instructions on the New York Times LibGuide (https://libguides.pratt.edu/nytimes).
- ProQuest Art, Design and Architecture Collection This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive survey of current publications in the fields of visual and applied arts, including those covering modern and contemporary art, all aspects of design and craft, and scholarship on Western art history.
- Textile Technology Complete This link opens in a new windowProvides domestic and international coverage of the scientific and technological aspects of textile production and processing.
- Vogue Archive This link opens in a new windowA complete searchable archive of American Vogue, from the first issue in 1892 to the current month. Every page, advertisement, cover and fold-out reproduced in high-resolution color page images. Vogue offers a unique record of American and international fashion, culture and society from the dawn of the modern era to the present day.
- WGSN (formerly Stylesight) This link opens in a new windowWGSN is a forecasting resource. Use it as an aid for your design research by accessing trend information, finding inspiration, and using design tools. Current students, staff or faculty members can register for a personal account.
Use your Pratt email address to create and access your account in WGSN.
For instructions on accessing WGSN, see the tab "WGSN" in this guide.
Please Remember: Login to Stylesight every 90 days to keep your account active. - World Textiles This link opens in a new windowDistinguished by its international coverage of scientific, trade, technical, and economic publications, World Textiles covers more than four decades of information relating to developments and innovations in the textile industry.
- WWD (Women's Wear Daily) Archive This link opens in a new windowWWD is widely considered the ‘Wall St Journal’ of the fashion industry. The WWD Archive covers the 1st issue from 1910 to the present year. Issues are reproduced from cover to cover in high-resolution color. WWD is a unique record of the twentieth century US and international fashion and beauty business. The Archive preserves one of the industry’s most influential reads, tracing day-to-day news, opinion, and socio-economic trends, from runway reports to beauty product reviews.
