Art and Design Education

Much of the research in art and design education is found in journal articles.  To find articles on a particular topic, use the online databases (periodical indexes).  Many articles will be available full-text in the databases, while others will be in print in the Libraries' periodical collection.  There are also journals and articles in our databases to which we don't have full-text access online or in print.  In those cases, you will either want to visit a nearby library to see the article or else request it through InterLibrary Loan (ILL).  More information on ILL can be found on our Interlibrary Loan FAQ page.

Make sure you write down the full citation (including journal title, volume, number, month, year) so that you can find the article within a print or electronic journal and cite it later.  Visit the Citing Sources page of this guide for more information on citation.

Education, including art and design education, is a multidisciplinary field that includes, in addition to education, art, and design, a variety of subjects in the social sciences and humanities, such as psychology, sociology, philosophy, history, urban studies, child and cognitive development, economic demographics, multiculturalism, and public policy.  Our list of Education Databases includes the databases most likely to prove useful when researching these disciplines.

There might be times when, in addition to searching for specific articles, you will want to browse through core and other relevant journals in your discipline.  The Libraries' collections include both print and electronic journals.  In some cases, particularly for electronic journals, you will not be able to access a complete run, but usually the latest years will be available so that you will have access to the most current research.

The lists of journal titles in this guide are not exhaustive, and generally do not include titles in related fields.  This is especially true for online journals.

• American Journal of Education [print through v. 108 (Nov. 1999-Aug. 2000; electronic thereafter]
• Art Education
• Art Journal
• Arts and Activities [print through v. 160 (2016/2017); electronic thereafter]
• Arts Education Policy Review [print through v. 116-17 (2015-2016; electronic thereafter]
• Exceptional Children [print through v. 79 (2012/20130; electronic thereafter]
• International Journal of Art and Design Education
• Museum
• NAEA News
• School Arts
• Studies in Art Education

• Art, Design and Communication in Higher Education
• Design and Technology Education
• International Journal of Design Education
• International Journal of Education
• International Journal of Education through Art
• Journal of Art for Life
• Journal of Cultural Research in Art Education
• Journal of Social Theory in Art Education
• Teaching Artist Journal
• Visual Inquiry