Finding and Using 16mm Films
This is the "About the Collection" page of the "Film and Video at the Pratt Institute Libraries" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Film and Video at the Pratt Institute Libraries   Tags: film, video  

Last Updated: Feb 23, 2017 URL: http://libguides.pratt.edu/filmcollection Print Guide RSS Updates

About the Collection Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

New in VMR!

Want to watch a film from our collection?  Don’t have a DVD drive in your laptop or computer?  VMR is now circulating DVD drives for seven days at a time from the DVD circulation desk.  Borrow one and make it a movie night!

 

New to the Collection

Recently Added to the Catalog

Cover Art
This is Berlin Not New York - Ethan Minsker
Publication Date: 2008
This documentary traces the journey of fifteen young, talented New York Artists to Berlin, as they meet and join forces with their German counterparts. It is a provocative examination of western contemporary art and the ongoing tension between commercialism and creativity for its own sake.

 

About the Collection

The Pratt Institute Libraries make available to faculty, students, and staff an extensive film and video collection of over 6,000 unique titles to support teaching and learning through the Visual and Multimedia Resources (VMR) department. The collection of  DVDs, VHS tapes, 16mm films, and other assorted formats are available for circulation and viewing on the Lower Level of the Library. Screening rooms are also available through VMR. The collection can be searched in PrattCat, the Library's online catalog.  The physical collection is supplemented by a streaming video subscriptions through Alexander Street Press and Kanopy.

 

Music Festivals On Streaming


Spark: A Burning Man Story (by Jessie Deeter, 92 mins, 2013)

Each year, 60,000 people from around the globe gather in the Nevada desert for the week-long Burning Man festival, where they party and collaborate on large-scale art before burning a giant effigy in a ritual frenzy. Rooted in self-expression, self-reliance and community effort, Burning Man has grown famous for stirring ordinary people to shed their nine-to-five existence and act on their dreams. Spark takes us behind the curtain with Burning Man organizers and participants, revealing a year of unprecedented challenges and growth.

 

Click photo for video

 

Music Festivals on DVD

Cover Art
Woodstock: 3 Days of Peace & Music - Michael Wadleigh
Publication Date: 1970
Woodstock is a 1970 documentary film of the watershed counterculture Woodstock Festival which took place in August 1969 near Bethel, New York. Entertainment Weekly called this film the benchmark of concert movies and one of the most entertaining documentaries ever made.

Cover Art
Message to Love: The Isle od Wight Festival - Bob Fosse
Publication Date: 1997
In 1970, 600,000 people descended on the Isle of Wight in England to watch a three-day music festival headlined by the Who, the Doors and Jimi Hendrix. Shot during the festival but only completed 25 years later, Lerner's documentary is equal parts nostalgia and critique, contrasting the festival's classic-rock performances with its chaotic planning and financial failure. This film shows this collision between ideals and commerce at the end of an era of change.

Cover Art
Bunny Chow - John Barker
Publication Date: 2006
Bunny Chow follows the weekend journey of four stand up comedians, who embark on a road trip to Oppikoppi, South Africa’s biggest annual rock festival. The four slip out of their normal lives for a few days with hopes of mass debauchery, drugs, rampant sex, true love and conquering the rock stages with their comedy, but they get a bit more than what they bargained for.

 

Music Festivals on 16mm

Always for Pleasure (by Les Blank, 60 mins, 1978)

 Blank’s raucous tribute to the sights, sounds, and flavors of New Orleans is perhaps his most sustained representation of pure joy. The film has footage of musical events, Mardi Gras Indians, a funeral with traditional music (the so-called "jazz funeral") and various second line parades.

VMR Contact

Profile Image
Visual and Multimedia Resources (VMR)
Contact Info
Pratt Institute Libraries
Library Lower Level
200 Willoughby Avenue
Brooklyn, NY 11205
718-399-4356
video.library@pratt.edu

Administrative Hours: 9-5 M-F
Circulation: See Regular Library Hours
Send Email

Suggest a Purchase

VMR collects films and videos relevant to the Pratt community’s academic needs, but also to promote the relaxation and intellectual and artistic development of the student body. Members of the Pratt community are encouraged to suggest new titles by emailing video.library@pratt.edu or submitting a request through our online Material Request Form. Preference is given to titles that will be used regularly in classes.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip