Finding and Using 16mm Films
This is the "DVD and VHS Collection" page of the "Film and Video at the Pratt Institute Libraries" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Film and Video at the Pratt Institute Libraries   Tags: film, video  

Last Updated: Oct 13, 2017 URL: http://libguides.pratt.edu/filmcollection Print Guide RSS Updates

DVD and VHS Collection Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

New in VMR!

Want to watch a film from our collection?  Don’t have a DVD drive in your laptop or computer?  VMR is now circulating DVD drives for seven days at a time from the DVD circulation desk.  Borrow one and make it a movie night!

 

New to the Collection

Recently Added to the Catalog

Cover Art
Before the Flood
A documentary narrated by Leonardo DiCaprio presenting a riveting account of the dramatic changes occurring around the world due to climate change, as well as the actions individuals and society can take to prevent catastrophic disruption of life on this planet.

 

DVD and VHS Collection

The Pratt Institute Libraries have a collection of over 4,000 unique titles on DVD and VHS.  Topics covered by the collection include documentaries of all kinds with a specialization in art, architecture, and design, as well as an extensive collection of animation and live action feature films.  

With current Pratt identification, students faculty, and staff may check out all circulating DVDs for up to seven days with one renewal.  All DVDs are to be returned thirty minutes prior to the office closing on the day they are due. Items must be returned to the Visual and Multimedia Resources circulation desk located on the lower level of the library. Items should never be returned in the overnight drop box outside of the library.  Late Fees for DVDs are $1.00 per item per day.  For more information about circulation policies go to Borrow and Renew.

Although the majority of the video collection does circulate, VHS tapes, certain rare or valuable DVD titles, and some duplicate copies are designated non-circulating. Non-circulating items may be viewed in-house at  the VMR viewing stations or screening rooms or borrowed by faculty for one-day only to show in class.

Faculty may place any films from the collection or copies of their own videos on one-time or full semester reserve for their classes by contacting video.library@pratt.edu with the following information: title of the DVD as it appears in the library catalog, course name and number, date needed, and type of reservation (one-time or full semester). Please come by the VMR lower level front desk or email video.library@pratt.edu for more information.

Browse the DVD Collection in PrattCat - Documentaries

VMR Contact

Profile Image
Visual and Multimedia Resources (VMR)
Contact Info
Pratt Institute Libraries
Library Lower Level
200 Willoughby Avenue
Brooklyn, NY 11205
718-399-4356
video.library@pratt.edu

Administrative Hours: 9-5 M-F
Circulation: See Regular Library Hours
Send Email

Suggest a Purchase

VMR collects films and videos relevant to the Pratt community’s academic needs, but also to promote the relaxation and intellectual and artistic development of the student body. Members of the Pratt community are encouraged to suggest new titles by emailing video.library@pratt.edu or submitting a request through our online Material Request Form. Preference is given to titles that will be used regularly in classes.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip