Skip to main content

Digital Arts: Articles - Databases

This guide will help you with research related to the digital arts. For thesis information, see the "Thesis Help" section of this guide.

Journal Articles & Databases

The Pratt Libraries provide both print and electronic access to many art, design and technology related periodicals. To find articles in journals & magazines, try searching our online databases.

Databases contain citations, which often include brief summaries (called "abstracts"), helping you decide which articles are useful.

If the full-text of an article is not included with the citation in the database, you will need the citation to locate the full text article in either another database or in its print version. 

How do I find the databases?

The easiest way to get to the Databases List is via Quick Links on the right side of the Libraries Homepage. You access the Databases List via the Find Resources tab at the top of the Homepage.  

The Find Resources page also offers helpful searching tips & strategies.

Citations are Important

Once you determine that an article appears to be relevant to your topic, you will need to locate the full text as well as cite the article later in your Bibliography or Works Cited page. For these reasons, make sure to save (save, email, or write down) the full citation of your article.

A full citation includes the article title, journal or magazine title, volume, number, month, year, as well as page numbers. If you found your full text article via a database or online magazine, you will want to record that information for your bibliography, too. 

Suggested Databases

To find articles on a topic, use library databases (a.k.a. periodical indexes).

*Remember that PrattCat, the library catalog, lists books and journals or magazines by their titles, not by the individual book chapters or articles contained within these materials. Databases do list (or index) individual articles and sometimes even book chapters. For this reason, using databases is important.

Art & Design-Focused Databases: The following databases will be useful for digital arts-related research. However, because digital art research may overlap with other subjects such as media studies, philosophy, etc., you should also consider searching in general or multi-disciplinary / multi-topcial databases, as well as discipline-specific databases, like those focused on the humanities, social sciences, etc.

Get Help w/Research

Finding Articles

This video shows how to find articles through the libraries' databases. To enlarge the video, click on the bottom right corner of the player.

Unable to display content. Adobe Flash is required.

Search Terms for Database Searches

Listed are possible search terms to use in databases when searching for articles related to the digital arts.

What other search terms can you think of yourself? There's no one "right" search. In fact, several searches might be most useful!

animation

audio art

augmented reality

computer art

computer generated (CG) art

digital art

electronic art

generative design

interactive art

Internet art

kinetic art

new media art

participatory art

robotic art

time-based art

transmedia art

video art

virtual OR 3-D art