LibGuides: Pratt Institute Archives: Plan Research and Visit

Sections

Online Collections

Pratt Institute Archives Image Collection The Pratt Institute Image Collection consists of photographs, postcards, and other images. Dating mainly from the late-nineteenth through the mid-twentieth centuries, the collection documents the history and creative output of Pratt Institute, an institution that has stood since 1887 as an important cultural and educational presence in Brooklyn and the greater New York area. Included are images of the campus grounds and buildings, some of which are noted for their interesting architectural features; official events and activities; student life; notable individuals, including the Institute's founder and his family; and student work.
Pratt Institute Archives Negatives Collection The Negatives Collection consists of black and white negatives produced by the Pratt Institute Photo Lab dating largely from the late 1950s through the mid-1970s
Prattonias (Yearbooks) Prattonia, the Institute’s yearbook, and its predecessors the Pratt Institute Souvenir and the Pratt Institute Annual, are being digitized on an ongoing basis and can be accessed through issuu. Included also are a few departmental yearbooks, such as the 1907 Willow by the Normal and Manual Art Training students, the 1914 Architects Class Book, and the 1919 Science and Technology Prattonia issue. The Archives holds hard copies of all existing yearbook issues, including those not yet digitized.
Pratt Campus Buildings Growing collection of scans of plans from the Pratt Institute Facilities department.
Pratt Institute Monthly The Pratt Institute Monthly, a journal published between 1892 and 1904, is a key source for learning about the intellectual and social activities of the Institute during its earliest decades. They have been digitized and can be viewed through the HathiTrust Digital Library.

Location

The Archives is located in the Library of the Brooklyn campus. Please see Visit Pratt for maps and directions.

Hours (by appointment only)

Archival materials are available at the following times when the Library is open:

Monday through Friday, 9:30 a.m.–4:30 p.m. (fall and spring semesters)
Monday through Friday, 10:00 a.m.–3:30 p.m. (summer)

Off-site Reference

Answers to queries involving short-term research can usually be provided by the Archivist without the need for a personal visit by the researcher. However, we are unable to conduct detailed or extensive research, nor can we supply or recommend researchers for hire. E-mail reference queries to archives-library@pratt.edu.

Access

The Archives is accessible only by advance appointment confirmed by the Archivist. This will allow time for materials to be prepared so that everything will be ready when you arrive. A preliminary reference interview is required before scheduling a visit so that the Archivist can better understand what your information needs are and help direct you to the relevant resources. Please make your initial request via e-mail at archives-library@pratt.edu.

A valid photo I.D., such as a driver’s license, passport, or institutional I.D., must be presented and will be held by the reference staff while materials are in use.

It will be helpful if you review the information about Using the Archives before your visit.

Reproductions

The Library is able to provide high-resolution jpegs or tiffs of images or documents. The Archivist will provide you with a digitization request form, and you will be asked to complete a permission agreement that must be returned to us before delivery of the scans. Reproduction fees will apply for requests larger than ten images, and usage fees may also apply for uses other than private study, scholarship, or research. Files are delivered via either e-mail or a cloud service such as Hightail. In very rare cases, the Archivist may refuse reproduction requests for items considered too fragile. Please contact the Archivist for further information.

Although we will do our best to fulfill requests in a timely manner, the Library cannot provide same-day service, and we cannot guarantee the meeting of tight deadlines, especially those imposed by an outside institution such as a publishing house. It is best, therefore, to submit image requests as far in advance as possible, especially if it is a large order.

Contact

Archives
Pratt Institute Library
200 Willoughby Avenue Brooklyn, New York 11205
718-636-3510
archives.library@pratt.edu