LibGuides: Pratt Institute Archives: Citing Archival Sources

Citing Archival Sources

Because there are so many different types of archival materials, researchers are often confused about how to cite them. There is no universal agreement on how to cite these materials, especially because many repositories have their own preferred citation styles that reflect the organization of specific collections. As with any secondary sources, however, the goal is to allow the reader to identify what is being cited and where it is located, and therefore the following elements should be included:

Repository that houses the item. Example: Pratt Institute Archives.
Collection to which the item belongs. The collection number, if there is one, may be included although the collection title will usually suffice. Example: Charles Pratt (founder) Papers (#001).
Number and title of the series in which the item is found. Example: Series 3.1.2: Incoming Correspondence—Personal—Miscellaneous.
Box number.
Folder number and title (if different from the series title). Example: Folder 10/12: 1850–1857.
Document title or description, including, where necessary, date, page, volume, or similar identifying information. Example: Letter from George Pratt, 21 Apr. 1854.

Note that in the case of the above example, it is not necessary to include the name of the letter's recipient because the collection and series titles make clear that it is part of a collection of letters written to a particular individual (Charles Pratt). If this is not so indicated, or if the series consists of miscellaneous letters with multiple senders and recipients, the name of the recipient as well as that of the writer is required.

In the case of artifacts, it is especially important to include the box numbers, since three-dimensional items are usually stored separately from the rest of the collections to which they belong.

The citation format might require modification to fit particular circumstances. Also, not all items will feature every element. For instance, the Prattler, the Institute’s student newspaper, forms its own unnumbered collection, so it would be cited much like any other newspaper, the necessary citation elements consisting of: article title, publication title, volume number, date, and page. The Citing Archival Resources page from the OWL at Purdue is a helpful resource and offers a citation example based on a modified MLA format, as well as a link to a research guide that provides possible citation formats according to APA, MLA, and Chicago styles.

Contact

Archives
Pratt Institute Library
200 Willoughby Avenue Brooklyn, New York 11205
718-636-3510
archives.library@pratt.edu

Online Collections

Pratt Institute Archives Image Collection The Pratt Institute Image Collection consists of photographs, postcards, and other images. Dating mainly from the late-nineteenth through the mid-twentieth centuries, the collection documents the history and creative output of Pratt Institute, an institution that has stood since 1887 as an important cultural and educational presence in Brooklyn and the greater New York area. Included are images of the campus grounds and buildings, some of which are noted for their interesting architectural features; official events and activities; student life; notable individuals, including the Institute's founder and his family; and student work.
Pratt Institute Archives Negatives Collection The Negatives Collection consists of black and white negatives produced by the Pratt Institute Photo Lab dating largely from the late 1950s through the mid-1970s
Prattonias (Yearbooks) Prattonia, the Institute’s yearbook, and its predecessors the Pratt Institute Souvenir and the Pratt Institute Annual, are being digitized on an ongoing basis and can be accessed through issuu. Included also are a few departmental yearbooks, such as the 1907 Willow by the Normal and Manual Art Training students, the 1914 Architects Class Book, and the 1919 Science and Technology Prattonia issue. The Archives holds hard copies of all existing yearbook issues, including those not yet digitized.
Pratt Campus Buildings Growing collection of scans of plans from the Pratt Institute Facilities department.
Pratt Institute Monthly The Pratt Institute Monthly, a journal published between 1892 and 1904, is a key source for learning about the intellectual and social activities of the Institute during its earliest decades. They have been digitized and can be viewed through the HathiTrust Digital Library.