Skip to main content

Ebooks

A guide for all users to get the most out of our ebook collection.

Searching the Catalog

Quick Search is the Pratt Institute Libraries' Discovery service.

With a single click, Quick Search provides access to the ebooks we have through our database subscriptions, as well as the libraries' entire physical collection and a selection of our own digital holdings. This includes books, DVDs, special collections materials, theses, journals, and more. It's the best place to go when you're just starting your research project.

Step by Step

Step 1: Visit the the library website @ library.pratt.edu and type in what you're looking for right in that main search box.

Step 2: Sometimes it is helpful to use the limiters on the left sidebar to restrict our search results. For ebooks, it may be useful to select "eBooks only" under "Limit To" or "eBooks" under "Source Types".

Step 3: When you see the ebook resource you would like to select, you can either click into the catalog item or click on the link in the preview that says "View record in [database name]".

Step 4: If you click into the catalog item, the link to take you to the database will either be in the left sidebar, titled "View Record" or "Full Text Access", or at the very bottom of the catalog entry under "Availability".

Step 5: By following either Step 3 or Step 4, you will be taken out of the Pratt catalog and to the database site where the ebook resides. Once you're there, there will be directions or instructions provided by the database on how to access your ebook.

Secondary Login

Some of the databases will ask you to complete a secondary login in order to access the full text of the ebook. Here's a quick guide of what to expect from those databases.

  • EBSCO
    • In order to download the ebook file (rather than just reading it on the website's online reader), you will need to set up a free EBSCOhost account.
  • Library Stack
    • You will be able to get the resource within Library Stack, but in order to view it, you will need to register for your own free account. You can use your Pratt OneKey or another email address and password.
  • ProQuest
    • Before you land on the database website, you will be redirected to a landing page to log in with your Pratt OneKey. Doing so will allow you a one-time sign-on to ProQuest and you will be directed onward to the ebook.

Accessing Ebooks: Examples