Purpose & Scope
This policy presents the current scope and collecting trends of Pratt Institute Libraries’ collections and charts future directions and goals related to these collections.
The Pratt Institute Libraries strive to develop collections that
- support the Institute’s evolving curricula and strategic plan
- reflect our student body
- represent global creative practice and scholarship
- center the needs of our students and faculty, including those related to language and cost.
Primary responsibility for collection development is handled by library liaisons. The Libraries also encourage patron driven acquisition practices via the Suggest a Purchase form to ensure that our collections reflect the Pratt community’s interests and research. Books by the Pratt community that are within the collection scope are also acquired. Additional guidance in policy and decision making is provided by the Pratt Institute Libraries’ Collection Development Committee.
The Libraries aim to provide a collection that encourages interdisciplinary study, therefore our approach to collection development is itself cross-disciplinary. There is not room to list every area of focus, but six representative examples of current thematic areas of focus include:
- sustainability in art, architecture and design
- community engagement
- inclusive pedagogy
- representation and identity
- accessibility
- interdisciplinary and integrative exploration
The Libraries’ scope of collecting varies according to the level of degree granted. The print collections are strongest in the areas of art, design, and architecture. Object based learning is supported through Special Collections, which include 16mm films, pop up and artists’ books, and an Institutional Archive. Electronic resources cover all subject areas and include various formats and media. Our audio visual and computer equipment collection provides patrons with the means to document projects, make presentations, and implement creative ideas.
Items in the collection circulate, with the exception of periodicals, reference collections, and some Special Collections. Condition, cost and demand may affect an item’s designated collection and/or loan period. Collections are supplemented by library consortia memberships and Interlibrary Loan service.
For more information, refer to the Collections and E-Resources sections of this document.