Books On and About Picture Files
- How To Organize And Maintain The Library/Pamphlet File byCall Number: 025.172 G696Publication Date: 1986This book discusses the ins and outs of creating and maintaining a picture file collection including how to collect, sort, process, circulate, and maintain picture file materials. There is also a chapter dedicated to assigning subject headings and labeling. While the authors mainly draw on their experiences creating a picture file for an elementary school, they describe both the methods they implemented as well as alternative approaches.
- The Picture File byCall Number: 025.177 H645ISBN: 0208914721Publication Date: 1975This is a manual for creating or maintaining a picture file collection at basically any type of institution. The book instructs readers on material selection, mounting, sourcing, classifying, housing, and circulation. Information is also presented on how to update files, where to find free pictures to add to a collection. A detailed subject list is also included in the text.
Other Picture Files and Picture File Information
Picture files may not be nearly as prevalent as they one were, but that does not necessarily mean we are looking at their total demise. Many design schools still have active picture file collections and creatives of all kinds, especially fashion and set designers, still utilize picture file collections for their works.
This page provides a short bibliography of recent articles that discuss picture file collections and links to a few outstanding picture file collections still in use. Also shared on this page are a few book sources in Pratt’s catalog that are specifically about creating and maintaining picture file collections.
Articles About Picture Collections: A Brief Bibliography
Heller, Steven. (2005). "off the shelf." Print 59, no. 5: 56-63. Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts.
Heller briefly discusses the history of NYPL’s picture file collection and discusses its current condition. A detailed description and review of NYPL”s digital image collections follows.
Payson, E. (1995). “The vertical file: Retain or discard?.” College & research libraries. volume 56, Issue 5, 423-432.
Payson discusses the present debate (in 1995) of whether or not academic and other libraries should keep and maintain their picture file collections. The article evaluates survey responses from 139 different libraries to a better understanding of their picture file procedures, finding that the results varied widely.
Shatford, S. (1986) “Analyzing the Subject of a Picture: A Theoretical Approach.” Cataloging & Classification Quarterly. Volume 6, Issue 3.
Article presents a theoretical framework derived from cataloging classification, philosophy of art concepts, visual perception, and previously developed principles to help evaluate, identify and classify a picture’s subjects. This framework will also help with applying existing indexing languages and devising new languages for pictorial materials.
Sturdevant, Andy. (2012,08,01). "Exploring Central Library's picture files where past and present coexist." MinnPost.
Article discusses Minneapolis Public Library's picture file collection and suggests that picture file collections still have uses. One of the more significantly interesting features of the picture file collection, Sturdevant argues are the images' categorization.
Other Picture File Collections
- SVA Picture File CollectionLocated in Manhattan, SVA is a leading school for artists, designers, and other creative professionals. Their picture file collection consists of over 1,300 categories to help inspire and inform students for creative projects of all kinds.
- SVA Picture File BlogSVA's library also features picture file collection blog that gives informative look at the images and categories in their collection.
- FITWell recognized for its programs in art, fashion, design, communications, and business, Manhattan’s FIT hosts a large picture file collection consist of well over 1,000 different categories.
- Rhode Island School of Design (RISD)One of the first art and design schools in the United States, RISD is a leading art and design college. Their library’s picture file collection boasts of over 500,000 images.
- Multnomah County Library's Picture File CollectionThe Multnomah County Library has a fantastic picture file collection and have been doing outreach on the collection through interesting blog posts, which sample what their collection has to offer. The information they have about their collection discusses where the materials in their collection come from and also some copyright information that every patron using the picture file collection should be aware of.
New York Public Library Picture File Collection
Located at the Stephen A. Schwartzman Building, Room 100, NYPL's Picture Collection contains over one million prints, photographs, posters, postcards, and illustrations from books, magazines, and newspapers. Pictures are classified into over 12,000 subject headings. Up to 60 picures can be checked out from the library at a time with a library card.
NYPL Digital Collections: Thousands of NYPL's images have also been digitized.