Fine Arts
Trying to visualize a certain place, time, situation, style, or object? Maybe you’re looking for images of a certain kind of animal; are looking for packaging concepts; or want to see how fresh produce was advertised in the 1980’s. Then again, maybe you are not sure what you are searching for at all. -- Let the picture files be a source of inspiration!
Rijard Bergeron, a Pratt MFA Creative Writing Student, discovered the picture files are a great resource collage materials. He scanned images from many of the file folders creating works like the one you see below:
Collage created by Rijard Bergeron, a Pratt MFA Creative Writing Student.
Images used are from the following Picture File folders:
Fashion
Fashion Picture Files
Picture file collections are a great resource for fashion & costume designers, especially when there is a need to look into past eras of clothing and fashion. Pratt Libraries' Fashion Picture File Collection, organized separately from the main Picture File Collection, contains thousands of fashion images, organized alphabetically by fashion designer.
Picture File
The main Picture File Collection contains an expansive collection of costume picture files organized by Era (17th - 20th Century, 20th Century is organized by decade); by topic/type (ex: bathing suits, bridal, academic); and culture (Egyptian, Dutch, Tibet… etc). Also of interest may be the expansive collection of files in the People, Travel, Accessories, Footwear, Industry, Textiles, & Uniforms sections.
Creative Writing and Critical Thinking
Whether it's a creative writing or critical thinking assignment, the picture file collection can provide you with insight and inspiration for your projects.
The picture file collection covers a broad range of topics, which makes the collection an ideal tool to help writers visualize whatever it is they may be looking to describe in their text. To name just a few, here are some topic areas that may be of particular interests to writers:
People (with over 60 sub-sections)
Landscapes (with 20 sub-sections)
Costumes (with nearly 100 sub-sections)
Accidents
Animals
Industry (with over 20 sub-sections)
Travel (with well over 60 sub-sections)
Browse the Picture File Index to see what categories may be of interest to you.
Pictures in W.G. Sebald's Novels
The picture above is from W.G. Sebald's Novel: Austerlitz. Throughout the book, Sebald utilizes evocative pictures that enhance the descriptive imagery of his text. 2 copies of Austerlitz are available in Pratt Instutute Brooklyn Library's Fiction Secion Call Number: SEBALD c.2.
Other Image Resources
Looking for more physical image resources? The Pratt Libraries have a fantastic collection of visual dictionaries and pictorial encyclopedias available in the stacks. There are also a number of digital image resources available. Visit Digital Image Resources at the Pratt Institute Libraries for a more indepth look.
Image Books
Natural Surfaces by Call Number: 704.943 J95ISBN: 0393730816Publication Date: 2002-04-17This book contains more than 1,200 high-quality close up and long range color photographs of various natural elements, including: trees, shurbs, flowers, foliage, grass, fruits, vegetables, stone, sand, water, and sky. These images are intended for use by artists and designers who draw inspiration from nature imagery. Book includes an easy to use index, glossary, bibliography, and list of sources, making it easy to locate a desired image. Book also provides a CD-ROM of TIFF image files for easy printable use.- Natural Science Picture Sourcebook byCall Number: 704.943 N285ISBN: 0442221703Publication Date: 1984-08-01
- The Picture Reference File byCall Number: Vol 1: Brooklyn Stacks Vol 2: Brooklyn Reference Section 031 P611ISBN: 0805511601Publication Date: 1976-01-01Contained in 2 volumes, this resource is basically the book version of a picture file collection. The books contain several detailed images on a wide range of subjects. Subjects are organized alphabetically and an page numbered index is listed in the front of the book. Volume 1 can be located in the Brooklyn Library Stacks and Volume 2 can be found in the Brooklyn Library Reference Section. Both books are for Library Use Only.
Browsing The Stacks
Under Call Number 391 in the Pratt Institute Brooklyn Library stacks can be found hundreds of books associated with fashion, clothing and customs including illustrated books such as: What People Wore When: a complete illustrated history of costume from ancient times to the nineteenth century for every level of society
Under Call Number 746.92: Clothing in the context of Fashion Design can be found under this specific call number.
Fashion Periodicals: The Brooklyn Campus Pratt Library collect an assortment fashion magazine and periodical publications. Typically the current year’s volumes are kept in the Current Periodicals room, while all previous publication years are stored in the Lower Level Periodicals Stacks.