SEARCH FOR ARTICLES & MORE
To find articles, images, videos and more, use the Research & Discover search bar on our homepage, or at the top of this page. It's a great place to start your research project.
Get Help
During library open hours, get immediate help by:
- Using our live chat service here (see orange button, bottom right corner)
- Stop by the Research Desk, 1st floor of Brooklyn Library
- Call (718) 636-3704
- For a slower response time, you can also email libref@pratt.edu
USE SPECIFIC DATABASES
Try these databases to narrow yourself to good sources of art information.
Choose from all fine arts databases here.
-
Art and Architecture Source This link opens in a new windowArt Source contains Art Full Text and Art Index Retrospective as well as a number of journals and other sources in the arts.
-
ARTbibliographies Modern This link opens in a new windowAbstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, dissertations and exhibition reviews with comprehensive bibliographic coverage of modern and contemporary art, architecture, design and photography. The time period coverage includes the 19th and 20th centuries. Covers literature published since 1974.
-
Artforum Archive This link opens in a new windowThe backfile of Artforum (later Artforum International), the leading magazine for coverage of international contemporary art, from its launch in 1962 to 2020. Spanning six decades of reporting on art in all media, Artforum offers features, reviews, and interviews relating to artists, exhibitions, publications, and other art world events / trends.
-
Art Index Retrospective This link opens in a new windowCovers content for more than 55 years of art journalism, this retrospective resource includes articles, interviews, reviews and much more from over 600 publications
-
Bloomsbury Visual Arts This link opens in a new windowBloomsbury Visual Arts is an interdisciplinary hub designed for research and learning across design, art, architecture and related fields. It brings together our visual arts resources to provide a richly layered and cross-searchable platform which can be explored using the subject and collection tiles below. This new platform currently includes Bloomsbury Applied Visual Arts, Bloomsbury Design Library, and Bloomsbury Architecture Library.
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new windowJSTOR provides access to over 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. JSTOR also includes the Artstor Digital Library, which contains over 2 million images from institutions around the world.
-
Library Stack This link opens in a new windowA database of digital publications from the visual arts, focusing on overlooked ephemera such as artists’ ebooks, podcasts, filmed lectures, typefaces, and more.
-
ProQuest Art, Design and Architecture Collection This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive survey of current publications in the fields of visual and applied arts, including those covering modern and contemporary art, all aspects of design and craft, and scholarship on Western art history.
