Associate Director for Collections Management
Lower Level
speccoll.library@pratt.edu
About the Picture File Collection
The Picture File Collection consists of tens of thousands of analog images from magazine and newspaper clippings, photographs, and a variety of other picture resources organized in file folders by subject. Containing over 1,200 different subject folders, categories consist of anything from Accessories, such as Buttons and Goggles, to the YMCA.
The Picture File Collection is available for use in the library only on the lower level. Images in the collection may be scanned and photographed for personal use but are subject to the copyright law of the United States (Title 17, United States Code). For more information on copyrights, see our Copyright Guide
- Picture File Subject ListA print version of the subject guide is also available with the collection.
- Fashion File Subject ListOrganized by designer name, the print version of the subject guide is also available with the collection. It is important to note that there is a large costumes section in the main Picture File Collection that is also relevant for fashion-related research.
Using the Collection
The Picture File Collection is available for use in the library only on the lower level. Images in the collection may be scanned and photographed for personal use but are subject to the copyright law of the United States (Title 17, United States Code). For more information on copyrights, see our Copyright Guide. High resolution scanners are available on the Lower Level of the Library.
Browsing the Picture Files
The best way to search and browse the collection is to come to the Lower Level of the Library and use it! If you'd like to get a preview of the topics covered, you can consult the pdfs below.
- Picture File Subject List . A print version of the subject guide is also available with the collection.
- Fashion Picture Files Subject List by Designer is available electronically. A print version of the subject guide is also available with the collection. It is important to note that there is a large costumes section in the main Picture File Collection that is also relevant for fashion-related research.