Books on Paper Arts
The Pratt Libraries have lots of books on paper art and engineering. Listed are a handful of books to orient you to our collection!
Click on a book image or link to view its PrattCat record--this will help you determine its location & availability.
Papercraft 2This book has an accompanying DVD, which you may request for check out at the Brooklyn Circulation Desk.
Paper Art Master: Irving Harvard
The article, "Paper Wizard: Mid-Century's Modern's Unsung Visionary Gets His Due," from Collector's Weekly contains great images and information about Irving Harvard's paper art.
Recommended Web Sites
There are many talented artists and designers working with paper for artistic and commercial purposes. Included in this list are organizations related to the papers arts.
- Bianca ChangBianca Chang is a designer and artist based in Sydney, Australia.
- Bruce FosterBruce Foster is a paper engineer & prolific pop-up author. Bruce contributed to Visionaire (issue 55). The Pratt Libraries has Visionaire in its Special Collections. Ask at the Reference Desk, and we'll pull this awesome item for you.
- Eight EmperorsEight Emperors is comprised of Thea Augustina Eck & Matthew Shlian.
- Erik DemaineErik is expert at the math behind origami.
- Hand PapermakingHand Papermaking, Inc. publishes a quarterly newsletter and an award-winning journal. Additionally it sells limited-edition portfolios and offers a freely searchable online image registry for those interested in handmade paper art.
- Helen FrielIllustrator and paper engineer, Helen Friel creates paper art and pop-ups for books, advertising, cover art, etc.
- International Association of Hand Papermakers & Paper Artists (IAPMA)The IAPMA organization focuses on the global promotion and support of hand papermaking and paper art.
- Jessica Tice-GilbertAmong other projects, Jessica has designed pop-up holiday cards for MoMA.
- Katsumi KomagataKomagata is an award-winning Japanese graphic designer.
- Kyle BeanArtist and paper engineer Kyle Bean creates work for book publications, cards, advertising and cover art.
- Kyle OlmonKyle Olmon is a Pratt professor whose work is featured in the Pratt Libraries' Pop-Ups Collection. Check PrattCat, our online catalog, for further details.
- The Paper Convention CollectiveThe Paper Convention is dedicated to the documentation of paper expressionism. From designers to artists to paper enthusiasts, the Paper Convention collective believes in collaborative initiatives, exchanging ideas and supporting the paper community.
- Paper-Cut-ProjectThese images of works by the Paper-Cut-Project duo will knock your socks off! Nikki Nye, artist, and Amy Flurry, stylist, comprise this dynamic duo who have realized projects for establishments including Cartier, Christie's, Jen Kao runway, Kate Spade, the Victoria & Albert Museum.
- Paper ForestThis blog celebrates paper art & engineering.
- Pop Up KingdomThe name of this Chinese blog speaks for itself.
- Robert SabudaRobert is a prolific pop-ups author and Pratt alum. The Pratt Libraries Pop-Ups Collection contains many of Mr. Sabuda's pop-ups. Use PrattCat, online catalog, to search for Robert's books at the library.
Paper Engineering Research
The Complexity of a Pop-up Book article by Ryuuhei Uehara & Teramoto Sachio
Electronic Popables: Exploring Paper-based Computing Through an Interactive Pop-up Book by Jie Qi and Leah Buechley
Folding and Unfolding (dissertation) by Erik Demaine
Next Stop Pop-Ups: The Influence of Paper Engineering on Visual Media by Bernadette Puleo
Virtual Pop-up Book Based on Augmented Reality (conference paper) presented in 2007 at HCI International
Books on Paper Engineering
The Pratt Libraries have lots of books on paper art and engineering. Listed are a handful of books to orient you to our collection!
Click on a book image or link to view its PrattCat record--this will help you determine its location & availability.
Other Pop-Uppery
Brooklyn Pops Up, a tour of Brooklyn with some of the greatest paper artists.
The Pop-Up Lady gives a great overview of the history of pop-up books and moveable paper.
Check out the Smithsonian's Paper Engineering exhibit.
Make your own pop-up with author and artist Matthew Reinhart.