Here is a list of resources that are free to the Pratt community
Campus Resources
Pratt Pantry
Located in Chapel Hill, The Pratt Pantry was started as way to address food insecurity within the Pratt Community. Information about food items, hours, and how to set up an appointment to access the food pantry can be found here: Pratt Pantry FAQ
Give/Take
Located in the Steuben basement, Give/Take is a free art supply recycling store in which you can donate art supplies for other students to use, as well as take used art supplies for personal use. Check out their website to learn more about the Give/Take art supply recycling initiative: Give/Take - Pratt Commons
Museum Memberships
As of July 1, 2022, Pratt has renewed memberships to select New York museums for Students, Faculty, and Alumni. More details can be found here: Museum Memberships
Brooklyn Botanic Gardens
Address: 990 Washington Ave, Brooklyn, NY 11225
Brooklyn Botanic Garden is an urban botanic garden that connects people to the world of plants, fostering delight and curiosity while inspiring an appreciation and sense of stewardship of the environment. In the Garden, in its community, and well beyond, BBG inspires people of all ages through the conservation, display, and enjoyment of plants; with educational programs that emphasize learning by doing; and with research focused on understanding and conserving regional plants and plant communities.
The Brooklyn Museum
Address: 200 Eastern Parkway Brooklyn, New York 11238-6052
The Brooklyn Museum contains one of the nation's most comprehensive and wide-ranging collections enhanced by a distinguished record of exhibitions, scholarship, and service to the public. Holdings over 5,000 years of cultural artifacts/art from around the world, The Brooklyn Museum is a leading cultural institution and a community museum dedicated to serving a wide-ranging audience. Located in the heart of Brooklyn, the Museum welcomes and celebrates the diversity of its home borough and city.
The Frick Collection
Address: 945 Madison Avenue at 75th Street New York, NY 10021
The Frick Collection is your home for art from the Renaissance to the early twentieth century. Founded by Henry Clay Frick (1849–1919), the museum offers visitors intimate encounters with one of the world’s foremost collections of European fine and decorative arts. The institution’s holdings—which have more than doubled in size since the museum’s opening in 1935—include celebrated works by Rembrandt, Fragonard, Ingres, Bellini, Vermeer, and more. The Frick Art Reference Library, a leading global resource in the field of art history, was established one hundred years ago by Helen Clay Frick and is open to researchers and the public alike.
Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum
Address: 1071 Fifth Avenue. New York, NY 10128 (Between 88th and 89th Streets)
Committed to innovation, the Solomon R. Guggenheim Foundation collects, preserves, and interprets modern and contemporary art, and explores ideas across cultures through dynamic curatorial and educational initiatives and collaborations. With its constellation of architecturally and culturally distinct museums, exhibitions, publications, and digital platforms, the foundation engages both local and global audiences.
The Jewish Museum
Address: 1109 5th Ave at 92nd St. New York, NY 10128
Located on New York City’s Museum Mile, the Jewish Museum is a museum at the intersection of art and Jewish culture for people of all backgrounds. Whether you visit our home in the landmark Warburg mansion on Museum Mile, or engage with us online, there is something for everyone.
Museum of Arts and Design (MAD)
Address: 2 Columbus Circle. New York, NY 11001
MAD champions contemporary makers across creative fields, presenting artists, designers, and artisans who apply the highest level of ingenuity and skill to their work. Since the Museum’s founding in 1956, MAD has celebrated all facets of making and the creative processes by which materials are transformed, from traditional techniques to cutting-edge technologies. MAD provides an international platform for practitioners who are influencing the direction of cultural production and driving 21st-century innovation, fostering a participatory setting for visitors to have direct encounters with skilled making and compelling works of art and design.
The New Museum
Address: 235 Bowery. New York, NY 1002
The New Museum of Contemporary Art is a center for today’s art and ideas, and a catalyst for dialogue between contemporary artists and the public. The New Museum is a project of multiple individuals and perspectives, and stronger because of it. We are committed to becoming a more inclusive institution. We embrace contemporary art from around the world, diverse perspectives, and the free exchange of ideas. We invite you to join us as we engage with the art and ideas of our time to question, learn, and grow together.
The Whitney Museum of American Art
Address: 99 Gansevoort Street. New York, NY 10014
As the preeminent institution devoted to the art of the United States, the Whitney Museum of American Art presents the full range of twentieth-century and contemporary American art, with a special focus on works by living artists. The Whitney is dedicated to collecting, preserving, interpreting, and exhibiting American art, and its collection—arguably the finest holdings of twentieth-century American art in the world—is the Museum’s key resource. The Museum’s flagship exhibition, the Biennial, is the country’s leading survey of the most recent developments in American art.
NY Times
Pratt Institute offers current students, staff, and faculty a free subscription to the New York Times online website using your Pratt Onekey. Details to access your NY Times subscriptions can be found here: Creating Your NY Times Account
Zotero
A free citation management tool that allows users to save web pages, create collections, and save full PDFs. More information can be found here: Managing References - Zotero
LinkedIn Learning
Pratt Institute Libraries offers access to LinkedIn Learning, a website with courses ranging in topics such as Business, Design, and Technology. More information to access LinkedIn Learning can be found here: LinkedIn Learning (LYNDA.COM)
Wall Street Journal
