Librarian
E-Books
An Oak Spring Herbaria - Herbs and Herbals from the Fourteenth to Nineteenth Centuries - A Selection of Rare Books, Manuscripts, and Works Of by
Herbaria describes sixty-three books and manuscripts about herbs and includes exquisite illustrations selected from the works themselves. Spanning the fourteenth to nineteenth centuries, and featuring works by Brunfels, Culpeper, Monardes, and Linnaeus, among others, this authoritative catalogue will prove fascinating to botanists, bibliophiles, garden historians, and herbalists alike
ISBN: 9780965450812Publication Date: 2019-04-30
Flora Illustrata by
More than eight centuries of knowledge, from the twelfth century to the present, are represented in the Mertz library's collection of more than one million cataloged items. In this sumptuously illustrated volume, international experts introduce us to some of the library's most fascinating works--exceedingly rare books, stunning botanical artworks, handwritten manuscripts, Renaissance herbals, nursery catalogs, explorers' notebooks, and more.
ISBN: 9780300196627Publication Date: 2014-11-25
Rumphius' Orchids by
Rumphius (1627–1702), founder of Indonesian botanical exploration and one of the greatest naturalists of the seventeenth century, was the first to describe tropical orchids in a Western language. For each entry, Rumphius describes the plant, names it according to a pre-Linnaean system of nomenclature, gives its locality, and details its medicinal and non-medicinal uses. More than twenty beautiful line drawings accompany the entries. The volume includes ample notes to illuminate the text and an informative introduction that tells the life of Rumphius—a remarkable collector/naturalist who overcame fire, shipwreck, and blindness to produce his masterwork.
ISBN: 9780300098143Publication Date: 2003-09-10
An Oak Spring Flora by
This is the latest volume in a major series that describes selections of the rare books, manuscripts, and other works of art held at Oak Spring Garden Library, a collection formed by Rachel Lambert Mellon. The 111 items chosen for this volume on floral illustration since the later Middle Ages include Books of Hours, still-life and vanitas paintings, botanical prints, and books of instruction of every kind, from planting a garden to making flowers using colored papers or wax
ISBN: 9780300071399Publication Date: 1997-05-29
American Wildflower Florilegium by
Jean Andrews is a true Renaissance Woman: author, lecturer, artist, naturalist and gourmet cook. She has gathered fifty-two strikingly beautiful American wildflowers which she has paired with a treatise giving the common name, the scientific name, family, origin, range, description, bloom period, pollinators, habitat requirements, propagation, remarks & etymology, and references.
ISBN: 9780929398433Publication Date: 1992-10-01
Print Books
Medieval Herbals by
In this detailed study of illuminated medieval Herbals, based on much new research, Minta Collins considers the illustrative traditions represented in the surviving manuscripts produced over a wide area in the period AD 512-1450." "Integrating her own research with secondary studies published in many languages over the last decades, and with the help of extensive illustrations, she offers a wide-ranging art-historical survey of illuminated manuscript Herbals. The evolution of the plant illustrations and the introduction of 'author portraits' and other figurative images into the herbal cycles, are considered. Questions of the provenance and distribution of individual manuscripts are addressed, together with broader issues of production, ownership, and function." "Medieval Herbals: The Illustrative Traditions will be of special interest to art historians, students of manuscripts and the history of the book and historians of medicine and botany.
Call Number: 745.670902 C712ISBN: 9780712346382Publication Date: 2000-01-01
Plant and Floral Woodcuts for Designers and Craftsmen: 419 illustrations from the Renaissance herbal of Carolus Clusius by
Nearly 420 Renaissance illustrations from Clusius's famed botany
Call Number: 769.434 P713ISBN: 9780486207223Publication Date: 1974-06-01
The Art of Botanical Illustration by
Revised and enlarged by Professor W.T. Stearn, this major work first published in 1950 is still considered the classic book on the subject. It provides a survey of the development of botanical illustration from paleolithic times to the highly scientific works of today.
Call Number: 743.7 B659A c.2ISBN: 9781851491773Publication Date: 1993-09-01
Picturing Plants: an analytical history of botanical illustration by
Drawing on the rarely seen archives of the Victoria and Albert Museum, Picturing Plants begins with some pressing questions: who drew plants, and why? And what do these images say about our relationship with the natural world? To answer, art historian Gill Saunders shares the story behind 100 gorgeous works, from exquisitely detailed scientific illustrations to the boldly colored seed packets of today.
Call Number: 760.9434 S257ISBN: 9780520203068Publication Date: 1995-09-04
The Art of Botancial Illustration: : the classic illustrators and their achievements from 1550 to 1900 by
The greatest botanical illustrations throughout the history of the genre are presented in this fascinating and beautifully printed survey. Beginning with the ancient Egyptians, plants, flowers, and herbs have been the subject of the artist's attention. Author Lys de Bray explains why skilled botanical art is better -- and of more use to posterity -- than the best photographs
Call Number: 758.42 D288ISBN: 9781577150237Publication Date: 1997-10-01
Plant: Exploring the Botanical World by
This fresh and visually stunning survey celebrates the extraordinary beauty and diversity of plants. It combines photographs and cutting-edge micrograph scans with watercolours, drawings, and prints to bring this universally popular and captivating subject vividly to life. Carefully selected by an international panel of experts and arranged in a uniquely structured sequence to highlight thought-provoking contrasts and similarities, this stunning compilation of botanically themed images includes iconic work by celebrated artists, photographers, scientists, and botanical illustrators, as well as rare and previously unpublished images.
Call Number: 704.9434 P713ISBN: 9780714871486Publication Date: 2016-09-26
Garden at Eichstatt by
Features painstaking reproductions of the rare original engravings from Basilius Besler's 1613 masterwork, "The Book of Plants". A total of 158 plates from the jumbo edition of this title have been brought together for a foray into the botanical illustration of the garden of Eichstatt.
Call Number: 769.434 B555ISBN: 9783822855324Publication Date: 2001-04-29
The Architecture of Trees by
The Architecture of Trees is the result of over twenty years of dedicated study by landscape architects Cesare Leonardi and Franca Stagi. This new edition preserves the original magnificent illustrations and text, translated into English for the first time. Each of the 212 tree species are drawn to a scale of 1:100, with and without foliage. Complete with tables of seasonal color variation and projections of shadows cast during the hours of daylight and season by season, no other tree book contains such detailed and scientific drawings. Considered a standard in many landscape architecture firms, the drawings, essays, and detailed charts are essential for large scale landscaping projects and a helpful tool for backyard renovations. Landscape designers will think in new ways about the effect of seasons and the time of day on trees, and anyone interested in nature and trees will be captivated by the stunning illustrations.
Call Number: 582.16094 L581ISBN: 9781616898069Publication Date: 2019-03-26
Databases
- Artstor This link opens in a new windowARTstor is a digital library that features approximately 300 collections composed of over 2 million images (and growing) that allows scholars to examine wide-ranging materials from institutions around the world.
**The Artstor website will be retired on August 1, 2024. Artstor's high-quality collections and key functionality are now on JSTOR.
- Art and Architecture Archive This link opens in a new windowThis magazine archive provided material dating from the late 19th century to the 21st and covers subjects such as fine art, decorative arts, architecture, interior design, industrial design, and photography.
- Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) This link opens in a new windowBHA and Répertoire international de la littérature de l'art (RILA) cover European and American visual arts material including articles from over 1,200 journals. These citation databases, searchable together, cover material published between 1975 and 2007.
- New York Public Library Digital CollectionsExplore items digitized from The New York Public Library's collections. This site is a living database with new materials added every day, featuring prints, photographs, maps, manuscripts, streaming video, and more.
Journals
- The Botanical ArtistThe Botanical Artist is a 36-page 4-color journal published quarterly by the American Society of Botanical Artists, a non-profit organization dedicated to perpetuating the tradition and contemporary practice of botanical art.
- Curtis's Botanical MagazineCombines horticultural and botanical information with such topics as history, conservation, and economic uses of a world-wide range of plants.