Librarian
E-books
An Illustrated Glossary of Botanical Terminologies by
An Illustrated Glossary of Botanical Terminologies is intended as a simple and concise handbook for students undertaking undergraduate or graduate courses in botany or biological sciences as well as general readers interested in understanding terms used in plant science.
ISBN: 9781681080956Publication Date: 2015-07-14
Plant Names Simplified by
Presented in a glossary format, this pocket-sized reference book gives the name, pronunciation, and classification of common plants and the meaning behind the Latin origins of the name. This enables the reader to learn how the terms should be spelled and pronounced correctly, and provides an explanation of why plants like Helianthus hirsutus is so called-because it is hairy!
ISBN: 9781910455067Publication Date: 2019-05-31
The Triumph of Seeds by
The Triumph of Seeds takes us on a fascinating scientific adventure through the wild and beautiful world of seeds. It is essential reading for anyone who loves to see a plant grow.
ISBN: 9780465055999Publication Date: 2015-03-24
The Imagination of Plants by
Plants have a remarkable mythology dating back thousands of years. From the ancient Greeks to contemporary Indigenous cultures, human beings have told colorful and enriching stories that have presented plants as sensitive, communicative, and intelligent. This book explores the myriad of plant tales from around the world and the groundbreaking ideas that underpin them. Amid the key themes of sentience and kinship, it connects the anemone to the meaning of human life, tree hugging to the sacred basil of India, and plant intelligence with the Finnish epic The Kalevala. Bringing together commentary, original source material, and colorful illustrations, Matthew Hall challenges our perspective on these myths, the plants they feature, and the human beings that narrate them.
ISBN: 9781438474373Publication Date: 2019-07-01
Trees: Their Natural History by
Trees are familiar components of many landscapes, vital to the healthy functioning of the global ecosystem and unparalled in the range of materials which they provide for human use. Yet how much do we really understand about how they work? This 2000 book provides a comprehensive introduction to the natural history of trees, presenting information on all aspects of tree biology and ecology in an easy to read and concise text. Fascinating insights into the workings of these everyday plants are uncovered throughout the book, with questions such as how are trees designed, how do they grow and reproduce, and why do they eventually die tackled in an illuminating way. Written for a non-technical audience, the book is nonetheless rigorous in its treatment and will therefore provide a valuable source of reference for beginning students as well as those with a less formal interest in this fascinating group of plants.
ISBN: 9780521453516Publication Date: 2000-02-13
Print Books
Botany: An Introduction to Plant Biology by
Botany: An Introduction to Plant Biology continues to set the standard for the fundamentals of plant science. No botany text better connects structure to function and does so with higher quality art and imagery. Combining strong scientific grounding with an approachable writing style, Botany teaches and engages. The essentials to a foundational understanding of plant science are all there, including structure, genetics and evolution, physiology and development, and ecology. Now in a modernized sixth edition, the text continues to lead with the latest material on molecular biology, plant biotechnology, and the most recent coverage of taxonomy and phylogeny of plants to keep students on the forefront of cutting-edge botanical research. Botany: An Introduction to Plant Biology, Sixth Edition is the clear choice for students digging into this exciting science.
Call Number: 580 M459ISBN: 9780763753450Publication Date: 2008-09-01
Medicinal Plants of the World by
Medicinal Plants of the World is a comprehensive and scientifically accurate guide to the best-known and most important medicinal plants. The book includes descriptions of more than 300 medicinal plants and their close relatives. Each entry gives a short summary with a description of the plant, the geographical origin, therapeutic category, historical and modern uses, active ingredients, and pharmacological effects. More than 500 full-color photographs assist in the identification of the plants. It is an essential reference guide for health care professionals — doctors, nurses, and especially pharmacists — or anyone with an interest in medicinal plants and their uses.
Call Number: 615.321 V285ISBN: 9781786393258Publication Date: 2017-07-26
Botany for Designers by
What's in a name? -- The science of cells : keys to plants cultural requirements -- Morphology : spatial and visual characteristics of plants as design features -- Color in planting design -- Plants as functional elements of design -- Cues from nature : plants as design inspiration -- On the job : from specifications to installations -- Manipulating plant forms : pruning and beyond -- Choosing wood for hardscape -- Nature's solutions : green design strategies.
Call Number: 712.2 T948ISBN: 9780393706246Publication Date: 2011-12-05
The Botany of Desire by
Every schoolchild learns about the mutually beneficial dance of honeybees and flowers: The bee collects nectar and pollen to make honey and, in the process, spreads the flowers’ genes far and wide. In The Botany of Desire, Michael Pollan ingeniously demonstrates how people and domesticated plants have formed a similarly reciprocal relationship. He masterfully links four fundamental human desires—sweetness, beauty, intoxication, and control—with the plants that satisfy them: the apple, the tulip, marijuana, and the potato. In telling the stories of four familiar species, Pollan illustrates how the plants have evolved to satisfy humankind’s most basic yearnings. And just as we’ve benefited from these plants, we have also done well by them. So who is really domesticating whom?
Call Number: 306.45 P771ISBN: 0375760393Publication Date: 2002-05-28
An Orchard Invisible by
The story of seeds, in a nutshell, is a tale of evolution. From the tiny sesame that we sprinkle on our bagels to the forty-five-pound double coconut borne by the coco de mer tree, seeds are a perpetual reminder of the complexity and diversity of life on earth. With An Orchard Invisible, Jonathan Silvertown presents the oft-ignored seed with the natural history it deserves, one nearly as varied and surprising as the earth’s flora itself.
Beginning with the evolution of the first seed plant from fernlike ancestors more than 360 million years ago, Silvertown carries his tale through epochs and around the globe. In a clear and engaging style, he delves into the science of seeds: How and why do some lie dormant for years on end? How did seeds evolve? The wide variety of uses that humans have developed for seeds of all sorts also receives a fascinating look, studded with examples, including foods, oils, perfumes, and pharmaceuticals. An able guide with an eye for the unusual, Silvertown is happy to take readers on unexpected—but always interesting—tangents, from Lyme disease to human color vision to the Salem witch trials. But he never lets us forget that the driving force behind the story of seeds—its theme, even—is evolution, with its irrepressible habit of stumbling upon new solutions to the challenges of life.
Call Number: 581.467 S587ISBN: 9780226757735Publication Date: 2009-04-15
Databases
- Environment Complete This link opens in a new windowThis database offers extensive coverage of journals, books, and monographs in the areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, and affiliated areas of study.
- GreenFILE This link opens in a new windowThis database focuses on the relationship between human beings and the environment, offering 295,000 records, 4,600+ full-text titles and a 6,800-term thesaurus.
- Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower CenterThe University of Texas at Austin Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center focuses on native plants to inspire the conservation through gardens, research, education, consulting and outreach programs. The Native Plants of North America database is one of the most comprehensive database of native plants for North America.
- MEDLINE This link opens in a new windowMEDLINE is the premiere database of the U.S. National Library of Medicine. It contains over 12 million records of journal articles in all areas of the life sciences.
- Nature Journals Online (Springer Nature Journals) This link opens in a new windowA listing of journals in science and medicine; gateways, podcasts, and productivity tools.
Journals
- American Journal of BotanyResearch articles covering all fields of botany published for members of the Botanical Society of America; ecology and phytogeography, paleobotany, physiology, biochemistry and cell biology, reproductive biology, structure and development, and evolution
- Botanical ReviewThe Botanical Review has been a leading international journal noted for its in-depth articles on a broad spectrum of botanical fields. Systematics, phytogeography, cladistics, evolution, physiology, ecology, morphology, paleobotany, and anatomy are but a few of the many subjects that have been covered.