200 Willoughby Avenue
Brooklyn, New York 11205
archives.library@pratt.edu
Welcome!
This guide is designed to help you understand how to navigate, search, and make use of archival resources at the Pratt Institute Libraries. Whether you are a first-time archival researcher or have researched with archival sources before, this guide will help you understand what the process looks like specifically at the Pratt Institute Archives.
This guide is split into two main sections:
Archives 101 provides background information about archives, including definitions of common terms, how collections are processed, and how to read a finding aid.
Using the Pratt Institute Archives provides information about how to perform archival research specifically at the Pratt Institute Archives, including how to search for materials, prepare for and schedule research appointments, handling guidelines for archival materials, and tips for making the most of your research visit.
About the Pratt Institute Archives
The Pratt Institute Archives collects, preserves, and provides access to the historical records of Pratt Institute.
Our collections include a wide variety of historical papers, images, and artifacts that document the history and development of Pratt Institute, as well as the contributions and achievements of individuals and organizations associated with Pratt.
Documents date from 1822 to the present and include many items pertaining to the Institute's founding in 1887.
Find out more about what we have in the Archives by visiting our Collections page.