Finding Architectural Plans and Drawings
Plans and drawings are essential references for architectural research. You can usually find them in periodicals (e.g., magazines and journals) and books.
Continue reading to learn more about where to look, as well as tips for finding and accessing materials.
Databases
Databases contain citations, and sometimes electronic access to full-text articles. Citations can direct you to the articles within the print periodicals at the library.
- Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive guide to the current literature of architecture and design, covering 2,500+ international journals and periodical literature.
- Building Types Online This link opens in a new window"The database Building Types Online is a resource for the study and practice of architectural design... All content was written and selected by internationally renowned authors in architectural design."
- DETAIL Inspiration This link opens in a new windowWith 3,400+ projects from 30+ years of issues, The image and reference database uses visual inspirations to support architects in their search for construction solutions.
- El Croquis Digital Library This link opens in a new windowThe El Croquis Digital Library provides electronic access to issues of the outstanding international architecture magazine since 2001.
- Great Buildings Collection This link opens in a new windowThe site features over 1,200 architecturally and historically significant buildings from all points of human history and on (nearly) all continents.
- Pratt Institute Campus Buildings (Artstor) This link opens in a new windowArchitectural plans and images of buildings across the Pratt Institute campus.
- Artstor This link opens in a new windowARTstor is a digital library that features approximately 300 collections composed of over 2 million images (and growing) that allows scholars to examine wide-ranging materials from institutions around the world.
**The Artstor website will be retired on August 1, 2024.. Artstor's high-quality collections and key functionality are now on JSTOR. Learn more about Artstor on JSTOR here: https://go.openathens.net/redirector/pratt.edu?url=https://www.jstor.org/artstor
Álvaro Siza's "Art Pavilion" (left) and "Fundación Nadir Afonso" (right) from El Croquis 215/216.
From the Collection: Print Periodicals
Architecture magazines are great sources for finding plans. But, a lot of them are only available in print formats with no electronic or digital counterpart.
Databases like Avery (mentioned above) can help you locate citations for articles, including any plans they feature. Using these citations, you can find the articles in full within print periodicals at the library.
If you find the citation for an article you would like, try using our Scan a PDF service. Our library staff can send you a scan of the print version as a PDF. You may want to specify if you are looking for the plans or drawings contained in the articles. The scanners at the library are also free to use.
C3 covers.
- a+u – Architecture & Urbanism"First published in January 1971, a+u – Architecture and Urbanism – is an architectural magazine in Japanese and English that provides information on architecture around the world to a global readership. As Japan’s only monthly periodical dedicated to disseminating information on architecture around the world, a+u has been widely and actively read by the architecture community since its inaugural issue."
- C3"C3, initiated in 1984, values creative, contextual architecture in which land, time and people are in harmony. Presenting the most outstanding works of architecture, urban design and landscape from around the world, C3 offers innovative and progressive ideas alongside analytical, forward-thinking critiques on architecture and urbanism."
- Casabella"Casabella is a monthly Italian architectural and product design magazine with a focus on modern, radical design. It includes interviews with the world’s most prominent architects. The magazine was founded in 1928 at Milan by Guido Marangoni."
- GA DocumentGA Document presents the finest in international design, focusing on architecture that expresses our time and striving to record the history of contemporary architecture.
- The Japan Architect"The Japan Architect was first published in June 1956 and was the only English language periodical that introduced Japanese architecture to an overseas audience. Since 1991 it has been published as a quarterly journal in both Japanese and English, expanding its readership both inside and outside of Japan. Today’s JA showcases contemporary Japanese architecture with in-depth commentary on the theoretical history and context of the projects"
From the Collection: Print Books
You can find architectural drawings in books about a specific architect or building. Consult the index of a book to locate these more easily.
There are also books that compile different projects related to a certain topic or theme. Check to see if the architect or building you are researching is listed in the index or table of contents.
Here are some books from our print collection that focus on architectural plans:
Key Buildings from Prehistory to the Present by Call Number: 720.9 B188 K44 2012Publication Date: 2012
