Skip to Main Content

Fulbright Program

A resource guide for those interested in applying for a Fulbright Study/Research Award or a Fulbright English Teaching Assistant Award.

NYPL or BPL Resources

The following databases sre available remotely through the New York Public Library (NYPL) or the Brooklyn Public Library (BPL), but you must have a library card to access them.  If you reside in New York State, you are eligible to become a member of any of these public libraries and obtain a library card.  To find out more information on how to do this, please visit our NYC Public Libraries research guide.

Europa World of Learning (NYPL)

Details and contact information for libraries, museums, higher education centers, and other research institutions worldwide. 

Gale Directory Library (NYPL, BPL)

Search across a range of directories, including. the Encyclopedia of Associations—International Organizations and the International Research Centers Directory.

Open Access Resources

Directory of Development Organizations: Latin America and the Caribbean (download)

Guide to international organizations, governments, private sector development agencies, civil society, universities, grant makers, banks, microfinance institutions and development consulting firms.  Please note:  This resource was published in 2010 so not all the information may be accurate.

Fulbright Grantee Directory

List of Fulbright grantees from 1949–2020.  Searchable by name, U.S. institution, field of study, country visited, and state.

Fulbright Scholar Directory

List of Visiting Fulbright Professors in the U.S. or U.S. Fulbright Scholars who had grants to your host country from 1948–49 to 2020–21.  Searchable by Name, U.S. institution, foreign institution, discipline, program country, academic years, and program.

United Nations NGO Database

The NGO Branch is part of the Office for ECOSOC Support and Coordination (OESC), a division of the Department of Economic and Social Affairs (DESA) of the United Nations.  The database features general profiles of civil society organizations, including address, contacts, and activities.  Searchable by name, region, fields of activity, consultative status with ECOSOC, and organization type.

World Higher Education (WHED) Database

In collaboration with the United Nations Educational, Scientific, and Cultural Organization (UNESCO), the International Association of Universities (IAU) WHED portal provides information on some 19,800 higher education institutions  in 196 countries and territories. In addition, the IAU WHED portal also disseminates information on the higher education systems and credentials of these countries, and is recognized as an official source of information on higher education institutions by national higher education authorities, governmental agencies and/or national academic bodies at global level.

World University Rankings

The Times Higher Education's (THE) World University Rankings is a definitive list of f the top universities globally, including more than 1,250 institutions across 86 countries in 2019.  It judges research-intensive universities across each of their core missions: teaching (the learning environment); research (volume, income and reputation), international outlook (staff, students and research); citations (research influence); and industry income (knowledge transfer).

Worldwide NGO Directory

The World Association of Non-Governmental Organizations (WANGO) is an international organization uniting NGOs worldwide in the cause of advancing peace and global well being. WANGO helps to provide the mechanism and support needed for NGOs to connect, partner, share, inspire, and multiply their contributions to solve humanity’s basic problems.