Skip to Main Content

Fulbright Program

A resource guide for those interested in applying for a Fulbright Study/Research Award or a Fulbright English Teaching Assistant Award.

Research Your Chosen Country

Fulbright grants are available in over 140 countries worldwide.  Your application has a greater chance of success if it is strongly rooted in the country you choose, so you'll want to gather some important data about the country in which you hope to study.  See the  Countries page on the Fulbright Website for information on participating countries and their requirements.  

Below are databases that can help you research the various cultural, political, social, religious, and economic facets of a particular country. 

  • Those  accessible remotely through the Pratt Institute Libraries' Databases page will require you to log in with your OneKey credentials. 
  • Those accessible remotely through the New York Public Library (NYPL) or the Brooklyn Public Library (BPL) require a library card for access.  If you reside in New York State, you are eligible to become a member of any of these public libraries and obtain a library card.  To find out more information on how to do this, please visit our NYC Public Libraries research guide.

Pratt Institute Libraries Resources

Social Explorer

This database contains 250,000 data maps, hundreds of profile reports, 220 years of demographic data, 40 billion data elements and 500,000 variables.

Statista Expert

Leading provider of statistics for marketing and general research, consisting of over 1,500,000 statistics on over 80,000 topics from more than international 18,000 sources.

NYPL or BPL Resources

ABI Inform Research (BPL)

Find current business information in full articles from business journals, newspapers, and trade publications. Publications include Wall Street Journal and Barron's.

Business Insights:  Essentials (BPL, NYPL)

Business Insights provides in depth coverage of businesses, including company profiles, industry profiles, products and brands, financial reports, company rankings, histories and full text periodical articles. 

Emerging Markets—Internet Securities (EMIS) (NYPL)

Full-text articles, news, company, industry and market information for emerging market countries around the world. 

Europa World of Learning (NYPL)

Details and contact information for libraries, museums, higher education centers, and other research institutions worldwide. 

Europa World Plus (NYPL)

Online edition of the Europa World Year Book and Europa Regional Surveys of the World series. Covers political, economic, and historical information, including statistics, for over 250 countries and territories. 

Global Newstream (NYPL)

Search the most recent global news content – with archives that stretch back into the 1980s – from over 2,500 news sources including newspapers, newswires, news journals, television and radio transcripts, blogs, podcasts, and digital-only websites in full-text format. Global Newsstream provides one of the largest collections of news from the U.S., Canada, Europe, Africa, Asia, Latin America, and Australia. 

World Geography (BPL, NYPL)

Covers world geography and related subjects such as history, economics, government, cultural studies, environmentalism, resource scarcity, and the impact of technology.  Material is divided into general overviews grouped by country and explorations of issues grouped by region (Perspectives), supported with articles, images, speeches, and other documentation.

Open Access Resources

ARDA (Association of Religion Data Archives)

ARDA provides national and international data on religion submitted by the foremost religion scholars and research centers in the world.

BBC News: Country Profiles

Full profiles provide an instant guide to history, politics and economic background of countries and territories, and background on key institutions.

CIA: World Factbook

Provides basic intelligence on the history, people, government, economy, energy, geography, environment, communications, transportation, military, terrorism, and transnational issues for 266 world entities.

Country Studies (Library of Congress)

Features descriptions and analyses of the historical settings and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of select countries throughout the world.

EIU Country Reports (Economist Intelligence Unit)

EIU Country Reports is a product of the Economist Intelligence Unit and provides in-depth analysis of current political, policy and economic trends and conditions for more than 200 countries.

Europa: Gateway to the European Union

Current information on the member countries of the European Union, including statistical data, policies, news, official documents, legal texts, and other publications.

Fulbright Grantee Directory

List of Fulbright grantees from 1949–2020.  Searchable by name, U.S. institution, field of study, country visited, and state.

Fulbright Scholar Directory

List of Visiting Fulbright Professors in the U.S. or U.S. Fulbright Scholars who had grants to your host country from 1948–49 to 2020–21.  Searchable by Name, U.S. institution, foreign institution, discipline, program country, academic years, and program.

globalEDGE

This source provides statistical data for nearly every country around the world. In addition to statistics, historical, economic, and political conditions are available.

UNdata

UNdata provides a variety of statistical resources compiled by the United Nations statistical system and other international agencies. The numerous databases or tables cover a wide range of statistical themes including agriculture, crime, communication, development assistance, education, energy, environment, finance, gender, health, labour market, manufacturing, national accounts, population and migration, science and technology, tourism, transport and trade.

UNICEF

Access UNICEF's research and reports on child welfare from over 190 countries and territories in fields such as education, social policy, gender, and innovation for children.

World Bank Open Data

Free and open access to global development data through a variety of macro, financial, and sector databases.  Much of the data comes from the statistical systems of World Bank member countries.

World Health Statistics (World Health Organization)

Download the most recent health statistics for WHO member states in a variety of subject areas, such as alcohol and health, climate change, violence against women, and water and sanitation.

Open Access Resources on Education for ETA Program Applicants

Education Policy and Data Center (EPDC)

As a research unit within the Global Learning Group of FHI 360, EPDC serves as a resource for education data, profiles, and data reports on education status at the country and subnational level, research papers on issues and challenges in education in developing and transitional countries, as well as medium-term education projections.

OECD Education GPS

The Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) provides reviews and assessments of educational standards in various countries, including extensive research and analysis of education policy around the world. 

Our World in Data: Global Education

This site features statistics and data on various aspects of global education, such as literacy rate by country and number of adults with no education by region.

Profiles Enhancing Education Reviews (PEER)

These profiles aim to describe all countries’ laws and policies on key themes in education so as to improve the evidence base on the implementation of national education strategies. The profiles, which are ongoing and meant to be updated by individual countries, are related to the themes of UNESCO's Global Education Monitoring Reports. The four chapters currently in place cover inclusion in education, equitable finance, climate change communication and education, and non-state actors in education.

Scoping Progress in Education (SCOPE)

Scoping Progress in Education (SCOPE) summarizes the key facts and trends in education around the world through five themes: Access, Equity, Learning, Quality, and Finance.

UNESCO's Education for All (EFA) Global Monitoring Reports (GMR)

The GMR is the prime instrument to assess global progress toward achieving the six goals of the Dakar Framework for Action: Education for All: Meeting Our Collective Commitments, adopted in 2000 at the World Education Forum by more than 1,000 participants from 164 countries..  The reports track progress, identify effective policy reforms and best practice in all areas relating to EFA, draw attention to emerging challenges, and seek to promote international cooperation in favor of education.  The reports, dating from 2016–2021, cover the following topics: Non-State Actors, Inclusion, Migration, Accountability, and People & Planet.

World Bank Education Statistics (EdStats)

The World Bank provides international educational statistics for such indicators as expenditures, literacy, technology skills, learning poverty, and education equality.   The Country at a Glance search provides profiles for individual countries.

World Inequality Database on Education (WIDE)

The World Inequality Database on Education (WIDE) brings together data from various surveys and learning assessments from over 170 countries.  It is searchable by indicator or country.