Skip to main content

Film: Articles

How do I search for articles in databases?

The easiest way to get to the databases list is from "Quick Links" on the right side of our homepage. You can also use the Find Resources tab to get links to the databases page and other resources.

News Databases

News databases are a rich source for film reviews.

PrattCat, the library catalog, lists books and journals, not the chapters or articles inside them.

To find articles on a particular topic, use databases (periodical indexes).

Make sure to capture the full citation (journal title, article title, volume, number, month, year), so that you can locate the article as well as cite it later.

Get Research Help

Librarians at Pratt want to help you with your research :)  Here's how to contact us: 

Other Options

Renew Your Books

Suggest A Purchase

Inter-Library Loan

Request a book or Journal Article via Inter-Library Loan using the Libraries' online form.

Other Area Libraries

Film & Art Databases

Art databases offer an abundance of information for film studies including reviews, criticism, theory and other articles.

The library catalog lists books and journals, not the chapters or articles inside them.

To find articles on a particular topic, use electronic databases (periodical indexes).

Make sure to capture the full citation (article title, journal title, volume, number, month, year), so that you can find the article and cite it later.

General / Multi-Disciplinary Databases

General databases offer an abundance of information for film studies including reviews, criticism, theory and other articles.

The library catalog lists books and journals, not the chapters or articles inside them.

To find articles on a particular topic, use electronic databases (periodical indexes).

Make sure to capture the full citation (article title, journal title, volume, number, month, year), so that you can find the article and cite it later.