Library and Information Science

This guide provides an introduction to the extensive field of Library and Information Science. In addition to sources about LIS, this guide provides a curated selection of books, databases, journals, and professional organizations for your use. Use the sidebar navigation to get started. 

Check out the list of required and elective classes here, and use the Syllabus Archive below to start planning out your MSLIS interests! Syllabi are a great resource for articles, books, and other sources.

The course syllabus archive is intended to help students make course selection decisions and plan their program of study, an overview of which can be found in the section below. For more information on a specific course, please email the instructor or contact your faculty advisor. If you cannot find the syllabus for a given course, contact the School of Information Office at si@pratt.edu.

Browse the Syllabus Archive (via GDrive)

SI syllabi are also available to browse through Open Syllabus Analytics (account registration required)

There are five MSLIS program concentrations:

• Archives, Special Collections, Rare Books, and Digital Curation: Learn to acquire, organize, manage, curate and make accessible materials in these four types of collections.
• Information Services, Organization, Management, and Use: Develop expertise in working with people and information, including people-centric skills in reference, instruction and management and information skills in organization, metadata and cataloging.
• Learning, Literacies, and Communities: Address the learning and literacy needs of diverse communities, from youth to adults and across media and contexts.
• Research and Data: Learn to manage data and support researchers in their use of data, including in the analysis, visualization, and interpretation.
• Technology and Interfaces Design and Development: Learn to manage and make information readily accessible to users through interfaces and technology, including its design and development.

Check out the program website to find related & suggested courses for each, and see the list below for certificates associated with some of the concentrations.

Advanced certificates in the MSLIS program are open to currently enrolled students, as well as to individuals who already hold a master's degree. If you think one of them might be right for your course of study, meet with your faculty advisor to plan next steps and discuss certificate requirements.

As noted above, the advanced certificates can further supplement the program concentrations. For more information on each of the certificates, click on their titles below to visit their webpages.

• Archives: Use archival principles and practices to make available documentary materials and historical evidence with long-term value to researchers and the public; part of the Archives & al. concentration.
• Conservation & Digital Curation: Use conservation and digital curation practices in both physical and digital contexts, including born-digital collections, across GLAM institutions; part of the Archives & al. concentration.
• Museum Libraries: Integrate digital museum collections and services with physical places and resources and engage with users through museum education and outreach; part of the Archives & al. concentration.
• Spatial Analysis & Design: Apply spatial analysis to societal challenges and create impactful visual stories; part of the Research and Data concentration.
• Digital Humanities: Learn how age-old inquiries into culture, meaning, and value meet emerging technologies and cutting-edge skills; part of the Research and Data concentration.
• User Experience: Apply a user-centered perspective to the design and evaluation of interactive technologies; part of the Technology and Interfaces Design and Development concentration.