Quick Search: Library Search Engine

Quick Search is Pratt Institute Libraries' search engine. Use it to locate and view a large selection of library resources.

What's included in Quick Search?

Quick Search provides access to the libraries' entire physical collection and a selection of our digital holdings with a single click. This includes books, DVDs, special collections materials, theses, journals, eBooks, and more. It's the best place to go when you're just starting your research project. 

How do I use it?

Simply enter in keywords and use the filters on the left side-panel to narrow or widen your search results. You can learn some advanced search techniques by looking at our Search Tips here. 

This is hard. Help! 

If you have trouble finding resources in Quick Search, you can always reach out the Reference Desk for help. You can visit the Reference Desk in person, email us at libref@pratt.edu or call us at (718) 636-3704.

Sometimes Quick Search is not the right tool for the job.

Use it...

• When you need quick results
• When you want to search print and digital materials at the same time
• When you're just starting your research and you need general sources on a topic
• When you want to search for eBooks

Don't use it...

• When you only need to search a specific database
• When you want to find visual images (Use ArtStor instead)
• When you need to utilize special data or tools. (like viewing census data in Social Explorer)
• When you want to view materials that other libraries have. (Use WorldCat instead)

In addition to Quick Search, the library provides access to our collections through the catalog, a full list of our databases, and an e-journals index.