Skip to main content

Library Buildings & Design

Sources and tips for researching the design of libraries and some important precedents.

Journal Articles & Databases

Pratt Library has print copies of many major Architecture & Design periodical. To find articles in those journals & magazines, search our online databases. Databases contain details about articles in magazines, so it's easy to search for articles relevant to you.

The library catalog lists books and journals, not the chapters or articles inside them.

To find articles on a particular topic, use electronic databases (periodical indexes).

Make sure you write down the full citation (including Journal title, volume, number, month, year), so that you can find the article within a print or electronic journal and cite it later

Library Research Databases

These databases contain articles in journals that are about libraries or for librarians.

Use the language of libraries when searching.

Stacks, Reference, Circulation, Information Commons, 

Many library organizations give annual design awards

Finding Articles

This video shows how to find articles through the libraries' databases. To enlarge the video, click on the bottom right corner of the player.

Unable to display content. Adobe Flash is required.

Interior Design/Architecture Databases

These databases contain articles and citations from journals about architecture, interior design, or building; for architects and interior designers. They're focused on a building's design more than its purpose.

Search using plans etc. to get specific information