Subject Guide
Discovery Search
To find articles, images, videos and more, use our Discovery search, available on our homepage and most other pages on the Libraries website.
Discovery search searches the Libraries' collection of books and periodicals as well as subscription resources and databases. It's a great place to start your research project.
Art and Design History Journals
If you have a specific journal in mind, search by title via Journal Search. A sample of our journals is below.
Databases
A database is an online collection of reliable, published information. Library databases provide a gateway to a wide range of research resources, such as academic journals, newspapers, magazines, e-books, web pages, and multimedia content.
When you are searching for resources related to a specific field or topic, it can be helpful to search using specific databases. Browse Art History databases via our Databases A-Z list.
-
Art and Architecture Archive This link opens in a new windowThis magazine archive provided material dating from the late 19th century to the 21st and covers subjects such as fine art, decorative arts, architecture, interior design, industrial design, and photography.
-
Art and Architecture EPortal This link opens in a new windowThe A&AePortal is an authoritative eBook resource that features important works of scholarship in the history of art, architecture, decorative arts, photography, and design. With innovative functionality and extensive metadata, the site offers students and scholars an engaging experience, encouraging critical thinking skills and supporting rigorous academic research.
-
Art and Architecture Source This link opens in a new window
Art & Architecture Source covers a broad range of related subjects, from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design. Providing over 600 full-text journals, more than 220 full-text books, and a collection of over 63,000 images, it is designed for use by a diverse audience, including art scholars, artists, designers, students and general researchers.
-
ARTbibliographies Modern This link opens in a new windowThis database is a specialist bibliography for the study of modern and contemporary art. It covers all art forms, including fine art, digital art, crafts, design and photography. It features full abstracts and indexing of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, dissertations and exhibition reviews published from the late 1960s onwards. It also incorporates book records, including those drawn from the collections of the Tate Library and the Bibliothèque Dominique Bozo, Musée LAM.
-
Bloomsbury Visual Arts This link opens in a new windowBloomsbury Visual Arts is an interdisciplinary hub designed for research and learning across design, art, architecture and related fields. It brings together our visual arts resources to provide a richly layered and cross-searchable platform which can be explored using the subject and collection tiles below. This new platform currently includes Bloomsbury Applied Visual Arts, Bloomsbury Design Library, and Bloomsbury Architecture Library.
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new windowJSTOR provides access to over 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. JSTOR also includes the Artstor Digital Library, which contains over 2 million images from institutions around the world.
-
ProQuest Art, Design and Architecture Collection This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive survey of current publications in the fields of visual and applied arts, including those covering modern and contemporary art, all aspects of design and craft, and scholarship on Western art history.
Film and Video
Our streaming video databases (including Kanopy and Alexander Street Press) are accessible both on and off campus.
Check out our Film & Video Collections guide to browse items available for checkout, including 16mm films, DVDs, and VHS tapes.