Skip to main content

Artists' Books Collection

A cornerstone of Special Collections at the Pratt Institute Libraries, this collection features artists' books from the 1960s to the present day.

Searching and Browsing Artists' Books

If you know the name of the creator or title of the book

  1. Go to library.pratt.edu and enter the name of the creator or title in the Research and Discover box.

  2. To see only items in the Artists Books collection, go to the "Library Location" filter on the bottom left-side of the screen and check "Artists' Books Collection/Go to Reference Desk."

If you want to browse the catalog

  1. Browse all items sorted by title.

  2. Browse all items sorted by date (most recent to oldest).

Using the Collection

The collection is housed in the Brooklyn campus library and the items do not circulate but you may view items in the collection at the reference desk on the first floor of the Brooklyn campus library. All you need to do is:

  • Identify up to three titles in the Library's catalog and make a note of the title, author, and call number
  • Go to the reference desk and provide the librarian with the information about the books you would like to see
  • Don't forget to wash your hands before handling the materials.  If you would like to capture images of the books, you may use your phone or ask the librarian at the desk if the book may be scanned on one of the library's scanners.
  • Enjoy the books and be inspired!

If you are a faculty member and would like to schedule a time to have your class come in and look at materials, please submit an Instruction Request and include information about the materials you would like to use and whether or not you need a Librarian to provide any additional instruction.