Librarian
Useful Databases
The library catalog lists books and journals, not the chapters or articles inside them.
To find articles on a particular topic, use electronic databases (periodical indexes).
Make sure you write down the full citation (including Journal title, volume, number, month, year), so that you can find the article within a print or electronic journal and cite it later
- Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals This link opens in a new windowThe #1 database for architecture and interior design.
- DAAI: Design and Applied Arts Index This link opens in a new windowThis database will be especially good for case study research and researching new green methodologies.
- Building Green This link opens in a new windowProvides media and information resources including the award-winning Environmental Building News, BuildingGreen Suite of online tools, GreenSpec directory of products, and LEEDuser web tool.
- Material ConneXion This link opens in a new windowAn online database of over 1,400 materials and processes of the latest materials typically unnoticed or difficult to reach by the design community. For architecture, interiors, furniture design, sports related design, consumer product design, apparel, automotive design, aerospace, military, medical, environmental design.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowJSTOR provides access to over 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. JSTOR also includes the Artstor Digital Library, which contains over 2 million images from institutions around the world.
- GreenFILE This link opens in a new windowA database which focuses on the relationship between human beings and the environment. Comprised of more than 600 scholarly and general interest titles, as well as government documents and reports. It offers a perspective on the positive and negative ways humans affect the ecology. The total number of records is approximately 295,000, and full text is provided for more than 4,600 records from open access titles. Also included in GreenFILE is a 6,800-term Thesaurus.
