Skip to main content

Grad Center for Planning & the Environment

Applying for an e-Card with New York Public Library

This short video walks you through the process of signing up for SimplyE, a free app offering remote access to NYPL's vast array of online resources. Please note: you must reside in New York State and own an iPhone, iPad, or Android device in order to download and use SimplyE. Once you've downloaded SimplyE, you can browse NYPL's digital collections and download e-books, audiobooks, and more to your heart's content.

For students not currently living in New York State, fill out the Ask NYPL form using your Pratt email address to request an e-card. Explain that you are a Pratt Institute student currently living out of state, and offer to provide some form of identification if needed (eg, a photo of your Pratt ID or some other document showing you are a registered Pratt student). 

Applying for an e-Card with Brooklyn Public Library

Brooklyn Public Library is currently offering free e-Cards to residents of New York State. Simply fill out a brief e-Card Application to access BPL's online collection of e-books, audiobooks, online databases, and more. 

Once your application is approved, an account number and PIN will be sent to your email address. 

Pratt students currently living outside New York State can apply for a free in-state e-card by doing the following: 

--Email circservice@bklynlibrary.org using your Pratt email address

--Use "in-state library card" as the subject line

--Explain that you are a Pratt Institute student currently out of state

--Attach a photo of your ID

--Attach a photo of your Pratt ID. If you can't locate your Pratt ID, attach some document from Pratt that shows you are a registered Pratt student

--Include your first name and last name

--BPL's Circulation Department will respond in a few days. They will send you a card and a barcode.

Applying for an e-Card with Queens Library

If you live, work, go to school, or own property in New York State, you're eligible for a Queens Library e-Card. Fill out a Queens Library e-Card Application to access Queens Library's extensive:

 

• E-book, e-magazine, and audiobook collection

• Virtual arts and culture collections

• Online databases and e-journals

• Digital archives / Queens Memory Project

• Digital media collection, including music and video streaming services

 

Once your application is approved, an account number and PIN will be sent to your email address.