Matt Garklavs
The Basics
There are a couple common factors across database privacy policies. Knowing these basics can help you find your footing among the sometimes overly complicated policies. Unless otherwise stated in the database section below, these basic policy parts are in effect when you visit a database provided by the library.
- Institutional account: Most of these sites will not collect your personal information (name, email), because your subscription is tied to Pratt, rather than to a personal account. If you are required to enter your OneKey as an additional step, that information may be gathered.
- Use of Cookies: Many, if not all, databases will enable cookies and the tracking software they contain. You can usually reject the use of cookies, but site features may become inaccessible to you.
- Browsing data: Most databases collect information about your IP address, ISP, browser type, operating system, and occasionally date/time stamp of visit(s).
- The option to opt out: If you have provided personal information, whether your OneKey or otherwise, most databases provide an option to opt-out of their using this information for their purposes. That process will be found on the database's privacy policy page.
- Social media: If you follow a link from a database that leads you to a social media site, you then become subject to that social media site's privacy policy.
Databases
The links below will direct you to the privacy policy pages for each database. This list will be continuously updated as more databases are added to the library's collection.
- ACM (Association for Computing Machinery) Digital LibraryACM may collect your name and email address, as well as web activity information.
- Alexander Street Press (by ProQuest)ASP has an opt-in policy: the database only uses data the user explicitly gives permission to be used. The database does not sell or release data for advertising. Any data collected goes to contractors that process data for internal review.
- Art and Architecture ePortalThe database collects information about your site visits and usage. If you interact with A&A ePortal on or through social media, the database may collect information about your social media ID and posts.
- ARTstor (by Ithaka)This information applies to all ARTstor databases. ARTstor may collect your OneKey information. Any comments you post on an ARTstor page that can be accessed by the general public can be used by ARTstor for promotional materials.
- AskARTData about your activity on AskART is automatically provided to AskART and used for internal review in non-personally-identifiable form.
- BloomsburyThis information applies to all Bloomsbury databases. Bloomsbury may collect information about your activity on its website(s).
- Building GreenBG collects your activity on its website, and only provides it to third parties as non-personally-identifiable data. If you participate in BG's public forums, the content becomes the property of Building Green and may be redistributed by them.
- Chronicle of Higher EducationCHE automatically collects activity data, which may be shared with third parties.
- ConnectNY (via Innovative Interfaces)ConnectNY collects your personal information as well as information about the materials you request, in order to fulfill those requests. This data may also be used for analytic purposes.
- DocuseekDocuseek treats all Pratt users as one large anonymous user. Any data collected is further anonymized for aggregation purposes.
- EBSCO E-Book CollectionThis information applies to all EBSCO products/databases. EBSCO may collect your OneKey and automatically collects non-personal information for analytical use. They do not sell any information they collect.
- Emerald InsightEmerald Insight may collect your OneKey in addition to information about your website activity.
- Gale Virtual Reference LibraryThis information applies to all Gale databases. Gale may collect your usage data and will use it only in an anonymized and aggregated way.
- ILL (by OCLC)ILL may receive personal information in order to process requests. Data is collected for product improvement.
- JSTOR (by Ithaka)JSTOR may collect your OneKey information. Any comments you post on an JSTOR page that can be accessed by the general public can be used by JSTOR for promotional materials.
- Kanopy Streaming VideoKanopy may collect your OneKey information, and may collect your activity data with third-party analytics tools.
- Library StackLibrary Stack may collect your OneKey. Information collected about your site visits is anonymized.
- LinkedIn LearningLinkedIn is ultimately a social media site. It will collect the personal data you use to register an account, and may use this information to send you marketing materials and service updates.
- Material ConneXion (by Sandow)MC may collect your data in an aggregated form.
- New York Review of BooksThe New York Review of Books will not share your personal information without your consent. It collects aggregate visitor data that is non-personally-identifiable.
- New York TimesNYT collects your personal information when you create an account, as well as data about your usage of the site, which is used to both personalize your experience as well as aggregate general visitor statistics. Any comments you post on articles, and any content you submit, become property of NYT.
- Oxford Reference (by Oxford Univ. Press)Oxford Reference may collect your OneKey information. This database does not sell your personal information to third parties.
- Project MUSE - Premium CollectionProject MUSE may collect your OneKey information.
- RapidILL (by ExLibris)RapidILL receives and retains your personal information only in order to fulfill requests.
- ReferenceUSAReferenceUSA may collect non-personal information and share with third parties.
- Scopus (by Elsevier)Scopus may collect your OneKey and other Pratt data. Scopus may aggregate your non-personally-identifiable website activity and disclose it to third parties.
- Social ExplorerSocial Explorer collects data about how you interact with its website applications. This data may be anonymized and used for business purposes.
- Statista ExpertStatista collects the information of when and from where you access their database.
- Swank Digital CampusYour information may be used for product marketing purposes, but it will not be sold to third parties.
- Taylor & Francis Online (by Informa)T&F may collect your OneKey. It may also combine your site visit information and any personally identifiable information to tailor your experience in the database.
- WGSNWGSN collects the information of when and from where you access their database, and may share it with third parties.
- WorldCat (by OCLC)WorldCat may collect usage information.
What about the library's own website?
Our website adheres to the Pratt Institute privacy policy. Visiting the library.pratt.edu website means that your OneKey may be collected, but not disclosed.
When you use the Map It feature within the library's website, information about your browser, location, and interaction with the feature may be collected for analytic purposes.