General Image ResourcesNew York City Image ResourcesArchitectureArt and DesignArt History
1. Find & View Images2. Organize Images3. Export to PowerPointOff-Campus Access
This is the "Home" page of the "Digital Image Resources at the Pratt Institute Libraries" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Digital Image Resources at the Pratt Institute Libraries   Tags: artstor, digital images, images, visual resources center  

Last Updated: Jun 14, 2017 URL: http://libguides.pratt.edu/visualresources Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Log in to Artstor


Artstor HELP

Artstor is a subscription-based digital image library with over 1.3 million images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities and social sciences, with specialized tools for teaching, research and study.

Before you get started, check the Artstor System Requirements.

The Pratt Institute Libraries' Digital Image Collection may be searched seamlessly within the Artstor platform.

If you are looking for images that are not available in Artstor, or need any further assistance, please contact the Visual Resources Center at image.library@pratt.edu for more information.

 

Picture of the Day from the Metropolitan Museum of Art

Loading Loading...
blank padding
 

Image Resources for Teaching and Learning

The Pratt Institute Libraries make available to faculty and students a wide range of image resources to support teaching and learning through the teaching collection of the Visual Resources Center.  The primary resource for digital images is Artstor, a subscription-based digital image library with over 1.3 million images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities and social sciences, with specialized tools for teaching, research and study. 

The Visual Resources Center works with faculty and staff in supplementing this subscription-based resource with the Pratt Institute Libraries Digital Image Collection, a collection of 35,000 (and growing!) locally created and licensed images that are made available within the Artstor platform.

 

********* NEW **** Virginia Thoren Collection **** NEW *********

Virginia Thoren Collection Online

Virginia Thoren, Ultra Violet for Town and Country, early 1960s.

Ultra Violet for Town and Country, early 1960s.

Ektachrome for advertisement, 1950s-1960s.

 

Virgnia Thoren graduated from Pratt Institute in 1942 with a degree in Advertising and Design.  She went on to work as a couture photographer for such magazines as Vogue and Town and Country.  The Virginia Thoren Collection was curated Thoren's close friend by Betty Guernsey and donated to the Pratt Institute Libraries in 2007. It consists of professional and personal shots of top models, photographs of friends and society people, landscape photographs, scrapbooks, and other personal items

The collection is housed in the Brooklyn Campus of the Pratt Institute Libraries and managed by the Visual Resources Center.  A growing collection of images are available online through Shared Shelf Commons. For more information about the collection, please contact image.library@pratt.edu.

All images from the Virgnia Thoren Collection, Pratt Institute Libraries. © Pratt Institute Libraries

Subscription-Based Resources with Image Access

  • Artstor  
      
    Over 1.4 million images and includes access to the Pratt Institute Libraries Digital Image Collection.
  • Oxford Art Online  
      
    Access nearly 7,000 images related to the history of art by searching in the image search box.
  • Berg Fashion Library  
      
    Check the Images Only box to access over 5,000 fashion images.
  • WGSN (formerly Stylesight)  
      
    Search Style Sight's Image Library for access to images of contemporary fashion.

Visual Resources Curator

Profile Image
Johanna Bauman
Contact Info
Pratt Institute Libraries
Visual and Multimedia Resources
200 Willoughby Avenue
Brooklyn, NY 11203
718-399-4356
jbauma91@pratt.edu
Send Email
 

Visual Resources at the Pratt Institute Libraries c. 1895

[Library -- Reading Room]
Image from the Pratt Institute Archives
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip