Associate Director for Collections Management
Lower Level
speccoll.library@pratt.edu
About the 16mm Collection
The Pratt Institute Libraries have a collection of over 2,400 unique titles on 16mm. The bulk of the collection was donated by the Brooklyn Public Library and includes full-length and short films on art, architecture, design, history, and social topics; educational films; animation for adults and children; public service announcements; feature films; and experimental films. Most films date to the 1970s and 80s. A selection of these titles have been processed and can be found through the Library Catalog.
Use of the 16mm collection requires completion of a half-hour training session. Pratt faculty, staff, and students who have been certified may circulate 16mm films/projectors and reserve the MMB screening room. To schedule a training session, please fill out this form.
Recently Processed
Angela Davis: portrait of a revolutionary by Call Number: L Reels 1-2Publication Date: 1972Follows activities of Angela Davis during 1969 and 1970 at home, with friends, as a college teacher, and as a black revolutionary. Describes the educational background of Miss Davis, her political beliefs, and the types of persons who either praised or condemned her.
Artists at work a film on the New Deal art projects by Call Number: LPublication Date: 1920An in-depth survey of the federal programs for support of visual artists during the depression. Several artists recount experiences with WPA's art project and other programs. Shows works of art created during the New Deal era and discusses the destruction and loss of many works of art produced then.
Chulas fronteras by Call Number: XLPublication Date: 1976A complex, insightful look at the Chicano experience as mirrored in the lives and music of the most acclaimed Nortęo musicians of the Texas-Mexican border, including Flaco Jimenez and Lydia Mendoza. Features the music and culture of Mexican-Americans living in southern Texas, showing food preparation, family life, dances, fieldwork, and other social activities.
Searching and Browsing 16mm Films
- Browse a searchable PDF including all 16mm holdings.
- Browse a Selection of Films in PrattCat. (Includes only cataloged titles that may be borrowed or used on site.)
- At any time you may type an asterisk (*) into "any field" and search on material type "16mm" to search all 16mm entries in the catalog - sort by "title" for alphabetical search.
- Follow us on Letterboxd!
- Please send an email to media.library@pratt.edu for further inquiries. Please note that the information about the individual titles has not been completely vetted.